Alien [Original Poem]

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

dream_jmuc6ndvhhh.jpg

You don't know me-
stars float through my hair
and rays beam from my eyes
I am other
I speak flames to your sparks
and electricity runs along everything I touch
I am alien
rooted to the earth
dreaming of sky
You don't know me
so why does fear fill you?

I work in a school that is 98% Latino. Many of my students are Dreamers- and they are a daily inspiration. Please do something to support Dreamers- write a letter, an email, a tweet, anything to your local congressman.



If you like this, check out my other poetry and deep dream art
Alter/Deny
Dirty Angel


All photos and text property of the author. Image created on deep dream generator

Sort:  

May the dreamers be protected in the world. Loved your poem.

I have been all over that DACA stuff and making calls and so forth. Thanks for the reminder. We could seriously all pitch in to make it better with one another.

Followed and upvoted.

I'm so glad you are involved! That is amazing that you have made calls. Thank you!

You know how we roll out here in CO!

that's the first of this new wave of deep dream images that does something for me.

sorry to have to say, it got real boring, and suddenly it's real again

nice image and nice poem.

People think the word nice is insulting, but I don't use it like that, I use it to mean, made pleasant thoughts and feeling come up in me, instead of the normal disturbed rantings.

so that's always a plus

latino people around you is a plus too
especially actually interacting with a bunch of 'em.

I used to do that, (not so much kids, usually adult classes mine, at least the groups. Tutored and taught kids in ones and twos)
(and for latinos read hispanics, or de habla español. I know a lot of Spanish people well, obviously, and then I know a fair few from Mexico and Colombia too)
(and then on this platform Venezuelans)

what ever I was saying before
lol

Thank you! I originally had a different image for this poem and as soon as this one popped up on my deep dream I replaced it. I didn't think the base image would work because I tried it with a ton of different styles and hated them all.... but then the star style worked and I was excited again!

I have worked in urban schools for my entire career, and find it very satisfying to help kids see how education can help them achieve their dreams :) Thanks as always for your support and kind words!

but urban schools where?

Kansas and Colorado in the states :)

wow, but is that where you still are, or are you in the 'south'?

I'm in Colorado teaching at the moment

you have to visit me then, 'cause I am never visiting you

Colorado is amazing- you're missing out!

i am alien rooted to the earth. i feel that. i admire your work for the dreamers. we all need a voice. i hear you.

My thanks, on behalf of my kids and myself!

Please abduct me, oh great alien overlords! I want to know you!

lol Only with consent ;)

Interesting way to get a point across. Resteeming!

Thank you! I'm honored!

This post has received a 1.56 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Such a shame what is happening here in the US. I can honestly say, i don't support the twitter President's decision. I believe that fandom drives Trump and Washington is his new "reality" platform.

It is a crying shame for these kids- many of them have never known any other home, did not consent to come here, and have worked very very hard to maintain all of the requirements to be dreamers. I hope that the people who put him in office see the mistakes they made, take responsibility, and make some changes. But we will see.

Alien poem? Your speaking my language :)

You were certainly the secondary inspiration :)

This post has been resteemed by @minnowsupport courtesy of @juliakponsford from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60051.08
ETH 2417.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43