Rage

in #poetry7 years ago

image

Rage

red haze covering my eyes
put my fist through the window
sick and tired of your lies
stole my body life inheritance
canceled out my gods
sent me out into the world
with no shelter food or hope
naked knowing shame
sense of self
but with no name
and you dare to ask me
why
wear the sun as my cloak
set fire to the trail of tears
hold thunder in my hands
make the earth shiver and moan
use the moon as my crown
use the tides as my stepping stones
have you heard a word i’ve said
loud as i’ve spoke
wasting precious oxygen
burning through the ozone
wandering in circles man
can’t seem to find my way home
set adrift without a sail
how much longer must i roam
your grin is just too much
your blank stare is driving me insane
flexing all my muscles
tightly coiled posed ready to strike
i want to feel your despair
the way you should have felt my pain
embraced my condition but
overlooked my life
would i be wrong to find pleasure
in watching the house you made of cards
fall
wear the sun as my cloak
set fire to the trail of tears
hold thunder in my hands
make the earth shiver and moan
use the moon as my crown
use the tides as my stepping stones
i want to slash and burn
this paper-maché construction
lay waste to these false borders
rip apart the boxes and bars
bury all the labels
disassemble so-called norms
rest in peace in my dreams
instead of fighting all my fantasies
live as one with flesh and mind
instead being separate entities
and you dare to ask me why
i’ve got this red haze
covering my eyes

Sumayyah Talibah © 06 December 2009

Sort:  

While I enjoyed this poem a lot, I chose not to upvote because you already published this online years ago at https://www.sumayyahsaidso.com/2011/10/rage-the-video/. Your poetry is awesome and I hope you will publish the newest poems here first because we need original creations here first. If they have already been published on another website, that brings the rank of the entire website down a little bit in Google because of the duplicate content.

"canceled out my gods"

That. ^^

The depth your narration goes... It's too real and relatable! :)

Nice write. You did a great job of conveying the inner turmoil of the narrator in a way that is easily relatable to most readers. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you. Thanks for reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67167.98
ETH 3674.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76