Out of the Box/Ruminations

in #poetry6 years ago

This poem/video originally appeared on Sumayyah Said So.

open my eyes to blue skies
beating heart
and thoughts of
revolution
burn the blood of dragons
sip a little tea that’s colored green
with lemon and ginseng
and clean my ankh ring
laughin’ and thinkin’
they know nothin’ about me
cuz my TV don’t get
channels of stupidity
cultural conditioning
ain’t softened my brain
surrounded by books
making plans
for the school after school
history lessons
Most High’s blessings
what it means to be
black and red and white blue
cover my head
wear all black too
got a cross and skull
and a choker full of studs
jilbab in the closet
a little Marley on my wall
a Bible on the table
next to my Hendrix cd
not learnin’ voodoo tarot
i think it’s learnin’ me
ain’t no box big enough
to contain all of my dreams

hold fast
to those dreams
that sprout knees and crawl
away from you
to go and
die

willful ignorance
isn’t that a sin?
or should be
i imagine
because it gets abused
knocked down
run over
tied up
hung
and set aflame
and we wonder
where
the children get it from

dancing and dodging and
ducking and weaving
bullets and loaded insults
and backhanded compliments
as if
i can not
appreciate
words fixed to a page
in my spare time
without trying
to learn a skill
or memorize commands
in a language i will never
understand

Recent Posts


TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Visit me on

Dividers can obtained here.

Sort:  

I love love your pens! You help liberate my soul.

This is awesome and I followed the video to your youtube channel. My new and best discovery for the week. I will spend some time on your youtube channel in the next couple of days. Please keep bringing us so many powerful messages in your poetry its medicine for my soul. @sumayyahsaidso

Thank you @rensoul17 . I haven't recorded anything new in years (camera and software issues) but I might record some of my more recent work soonish. <3

Hey @sumayyahsaidso, You really should update, I think right now it will pay off if we can keep all our social media platforms up and running and get as many eyes on our work as possible, especially if you may consider consolidating your poems in a book and selling them in that way.
Having social media ties, you will already have an audience and customers. And i do understand its no guarantee they will purchase but having them gives us gives us better opportunities than not having them at all.

I am editing my poems into book form at this time. You have motivated me to create a youtube account which I don't have. I am on twitter but never really understood how it is supposed to work. Maybe I will one day.

Your post has been chosen for this week’s Powa Moves curation post, highlighting great writing and art from the #teamgirlpowa tag. 💖 Thanks for sharing your wonderful words, and for making @teamgirlpowa awesome!
TGP-22-Banner.jpg

Damn. You are so profoundly powerful. This is really beautiful.

"Ain't no box big enough
To contain all of my dreams."

Right. On.

Mind = Blown.

You are gifted. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you. And thanks for reading.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61092.62
ETH 2666.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62