You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: @Girlbeforemirror: A Tribute to Astonishing Talent ... and a Heart that is Gallant

in #poetry6 years ago

Yes, Baylor College of Medicine in Houston is doing a study, not sure who many families are involved but we all had blood drawn so they could study the DNA and try to find something that stands out that might point research to explore. It has been about four years now and when they took the blood samples they said it could be as long as seven years before we would hear anything about the study results.
That is quite a story of your own and Alzheimer research you and your daughter have going on, I wish her and you well in that.

Sort:  

@sultnpapper,

I love the fact that you and Marg are riffing. There's nothing like the experience itself. The rest of us, unwittingly, are simply too ignorant to contribute much beyond moral support. How could we not be? EDS is rare. But you guys know all the nuances and I'm glad you've found each other. This alone was worth the post.

Respecting Alzheimer's, my daughter plans, someday, to start blogging on Steemit about our experiments and the compounds we've formulated. It's a Herculean task though. To reduce it all to everyday language ... not easy. Her teachers have no idea what she's talking about.

And, she's really busy. There are several universities in a bidding war to get her to attend. One has offered her a Free Ride (tuition, books, room & board) and a very substantial research budget (to use as she likes) ... even as a freshman! To keep the bidders bidding, though, she's got to keep her grades up ... and, at her level, that means 95%+ in nothing but Advanced (by several years) Classes.

As you can tell, I am a ferociously proud father. My daughter says it's not classy for me to brag about her. She's right, but I can't help myself. And, since she's not here to stop me ...

Quill

They are called "bragging rights" for a reason, so use them by all means. You should be very proud as I am sure you are.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57941.45
ETH 2579.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39