"Hey, Jim" [Poem written exactly 25 years ago to the Day!] 12-25-1991

in #poetry8 years ago

Hey, Jim

Hey Jim,
You taught me how to swim.
As I look in to your visionary eyes,
I see all the lies
you once saw.
I see your different faces,
and I can see
the different places
you grew up.


I now ask what you once asked,
What does the World want from Me?
What does it want to see?


You told it to follow,
but it was too afraid-
you ranted and raved,
danced and crawled,
you even broke the law-
as everyone saw,
but instead, they all clung to their fears,
never letting go.

You once asked 'Have you ever broken
through?
You Wild Child, strange creature,
with deep, piercing eyes,
who saw through all the lies.

You now await across the ocean,
on the other side,
greeting those arriving.

You traveled all alone,
like the Ancient Mariner
who broke the Law of Nature,
and now tells his sad tale,
to those who listen to no avail.

Everyone is afraid to let go.
No one is willing to take
the next step,
They'd rather have it rammed down
their throat, they won't even taste it
or enjoy it.
But You, like the Ancient Mariner,
live Life-in-Death.

I now dive, holding my breath,
until I emerge on the other side.
Does Anybody want to go?

12-25-1991

I wasn't sure about posting this, but being that it is exactly 25 years ago to the day that I penned it, I ultimately decided to post this poem regardless of my personal sentiments towards revealing the ideas and emotions of a youthful me. I have others that I have held back from posting but will consider them for future postings on My Poem of the Week, comprised of poems from a few notebooks I wrote over 24+ years ago.

streetstyle logo
Signature Logo Created by @czar
if you need one, he is steem dollars reasonable!

12/22/16
Full $teem Ahead!
My Top Blogs

-The REAL Billionaire Boys Club

-Dr. Senzör - The Evilution

Picture Sources:
Pic 1: Wikimedia
Pic 2: Wikimedia
Pic 3: Wikimedia

Sort:  

I really like that poetry. Upvote and follow.

Thank you @aidancloquell I truly appreciate it.

Full $teem Ahead!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57527.13
ETH 2375.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42