A typical homeschool lesson, with Bob Dylan

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

2017-08-11_21.36.36[1].png

When I tell people that my children don't go to school, they often ask, 'so do you do lessons with them?' and I say something like, 'well, it doesn't exactly work like that...'

People sometimes ask them, 'What's your favourite subject?' and they just get confused, blank looks in return. We don't do subjects either.

Those people then go away, scratching their heads, thinking to themselves (or sometimes asking straight out) 'so how do your children learn anything?'

So, for those people who wonder what a typical homeschooling lesson is like, I'll give you an example from today. Let's call it 'English Literature' - that's a proper subject they teach in proper schools, isn't it...

We were driving down the road, on our way to the seaside, to watch the sunset. A tape was playing on the car stereo. I'm probably one of the only people who still uses casettes, since the cd player stopped working. On the plus side, it means that my children are probably among the few of their generation who know what a casette is and how it works. I taught them that in 'History' and also in 'Science'. On the minus side, I've only got about five tapes, which I recorded about thirty years ago. A couple of mix tapes, recorded off the radio, a Bob Dylan compilation and a couple of others. So we've been listening to the Bob Dylan tape mostly, for about the last year or two, while I keep a lookout for a tape recorder, so I can make some more tapes to listen to in the car.

There's this one song, 'Lily, Rosemary and the Jack of Hearts', which tells a complex story of love, loyalty, cunning, deception, greed and loss - against the backdrop of a illicit gambling den/cabaret saloon... It's a long song with a cast of several characters and a very elaborate plot. So elaborate in fact, that it took me about twenty years until I really understood exactly what's going on in the story.

My ten year old daughter is someone who listens to the words of songs. Not everyone does that, but she really does - and thinks about them too. So when this song came on, as it always does, I told her it's got such a complicated plot, it took me years to understand it. She asked me to tell her the story, so I did, as well as I could - in simplified form - describing the various characters, their relationship to each other, what they were doing there, what happened on various levels. She had a bit of a hard time working out if the Jack of Hearts himself is supposed to be good or bad, because really, he's both. There is also the hard to grasp idea that when Rosemary kills her husband, Big Jim, it's actually a selfless act of compassion. Like I say, it's a complicated story to fit into a song. Almost Shakespearean, I would say.

After we'd discussed the story a bit, I switched the tape back on and we listened to the song again. She seemed to understand it better now. After the song had finished, she didn't speak for a while, thinking about it and then asked 'why did she say about the coat of paint?'

There's these two lines in the song, where Lily says to Jack:
'Be careful not to touch the wall, there's a brand new coat of paint
It's good to see you're still alive, you're looking like a saint.'

Now, it's funny that she should ask that, because even after I'd worked out most of what's going on in the rest of the song, I could never understand those lines either. I just figured that Bob put it in because he was being random and wanted something to rhyme with saint. But then we got to thinking about it, looking at the lines in the context of the story and came to understand exactly why she said that to him. It made perfect sense.

It was a good lesson. We arrived at the seaside just before sunset, just in time for the swimming lesson. They're good swimmers, my kids. Nobody ever really taught them, but somehow they figured it out.

Click on the picture above to hear the song (acoustic out-take version)

Big Upvote for anyone who can say why Lily mentioned the paint on the wall!


Check out the ecoTrain highlight posts, showcasing our amazing passengers every week
https://steemit.com/nature/@eco-alex/ecotrain-post-highlights-5th-july-12th-august-2017-more-amazing-content-every-week

Sort:  

Because his luck ran out? A bit to obvious i guess :-)

Obvious for you perhaps, @bubke , yet funny you should say that .... because now that you mention it , I don't really know why she'd say that either. Now I'm wondering what she meant by that. Either she knew about Jack and Rosemary's past , or she was just joking with him. Hard to tell. Mysterious lady, that Lily.

Most people will never understand that you can teach without making it lectureY.

Good on you for having real conversations with your children!
Peace!!

Thanks @em3 . Yes, it's something that a lot of teachers don’t understand - that their main job is to raise and answer questions, but most importantly, not to put children off learning.
Learning is something everyone does naturally, from the time we're born - hopefully for the rest of our lives. The idea that 'education' starts and ends at a certain age, between this and that hour is quite unhelpful in many ways.
Saying that, there seem to be some good advances in schooling in some places - particularly in Finland. From what I hear, they have scrapped subjects and tests and extended playtime to the whole day - and now have some of the most successful schools in the world.

From what i know of your son, and how intelligent he is, you are a perfect example of why you dont need to send your kids to school! His mind is totally open and awake, not at all dumbed down by 'the system'

Hearty congrats on being brave and ignoring the rhetoric!

Exactly!
Next try Paul Simon Rhythm of the Saints for social studies.

Thanks @eco-alex . Yes, my oldest has developed remarkable understanding and abilities with computers and the internet, which is something he probably wouldn't have learned in school. In many ways , the school system is outdated and ill equipped to prepare children for the reality of the fast changing world they are growing up into.
Saying that, I think me and you learned quite a lot in school - particularly in practicing ways to beat the system - and also made some lifelong friendships, so it's not all bad.

I will have to listen or read the words...
An amazing post as always. I think I told you my daughter begged to be homeschooled. I was not up for the task. My other daughter complained that school kept restricting her learning. I don't know what the answer is. Nuance and complexity is every situation.

Yes indeed @icmultitudes - you said it - nuance and complexity in every situation. Homeschooling is very demanding on parents and probably not for everyone. Also, there's a lot to be said for the social aspect of school. Your daughter seems to have benefited from an excellent music department at her school, which makes me happy to see. The thing that upsets me most is when I see music teachers putting kids off learning music.

That's true! Music school inflicted nothing on me but fear and disgust of playing music, until I took up the guitar at 30 y.o. The teachers could not show how one can enjoy music, because they hadn't succeeded much in it either...

I'm so sorry that you had that experience of music school @olivera-despina and am very glad to hear you've taken up music again. I know that I'd be quite lost in the world if it weren't for music and a guitar is one of the best companions in life.

Your posts are fantastic and your photograph is stunning. I'm all for home schooling although I don't have any children. Sorry I would not why Lilly was worried about the new paint on the wall.

Thank you @gardenbsquared . That's ok, it took me years to figure it out. Give it some time.

This is crazy, I am listening Bob Dylan right now. Knocking on heaven's door is my favorite :)

The connections going on are quite astounding

During my time as a teacher of German as a foreign language, I did a course in suggestopedia to enhance my teaching methods.
There I met my former Latin teacher. At that time he was retired already and taught German to asylum seekers to have a task in live. I always considered him to be one of the better teachers, quite progressive. During that course he had many enlightening moments how teaching could be and he said:
School could be so much fun, but it´s bogged down in bureaucracy and years behind.

Your posts always amaze me.
Every time i see your post, i always feel happy and happy.
I am very motivated to visit those places.
I am currently looking for information on safe and reliable travel.
Because maybe by the end of this year I will try to tour some countries for a vacation.
I will try to go to places you've ever recommended.
I also really like the food you post.
Maybe someday I will try to taste the food.
Thank you for your post.

I recommend you visit the Institute of Comparative Irrelevance in Frankfurt, Germany.

Me or rumollah? I've been there. Learned everything I know there

It ain´t me, babe.

rumollah of course, because otherwise my comment would not be indented (my picture would be in a straight vertical line under her picture)

Thank you rumollah.
The highway is for gamblers, better use your sense.
Take what you have gathered from coincidence.
I suggest a trip down to highway 61.
If you find your way to Galilee, look me up.
The food here is very good.
Happy travels my friend.

I love the smell of freedom in this post. Your kids are growing up unfettered to be themselves and are very very lucky to have you as their dad.

Nice example of how learning happens all the time, if you let it! We also homeschool and most of the learning can't be forced in under a single subject. And, like you said about swimming, so many things they just suddenly know without ever being tought.
Thanks for sharing and good luck trying to expand your collection of cassettes for the car!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 71082.84
ETH 3864.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52