Expressionism

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

FB_IMG_1501536476061.jpg

Leaving embedded codes on your X and Y's
So your future children will know it
I wanna reach everyday folk
Common folk
Tired of living complacent lives
Ready to revolt folk
Rousing you to take action
Do something

Not simply sit here
Moan, groan and nod your head
I wanna stir the spiritually dead
I wanna say something
That causes you to lose sleep
Shock your chakras
And levitates your feet
So you leave this building
Flying
Not stumbling
Like when we first came in
I want to take out a slice of your essence
Flip it, rearrange it, and replace it
So when you leave here
You will never be the same again
I wanna say something
That makes you wanna go and tell your friends
I want be more than the intellectual poet
I want to be the ICON of change
In revolution as you know it.

I could sit here and tell you
About all the intelligent books I've read
How revolution is coming
And racism ain't dead
I could quote the like of Marcus Garvey,
Malcolm X, Ghandi, or Langston Hughes
Tell you how Millie's children are still singing
the blues
But am I really teaching you something
Giving you spiritual food
Or am I using tactics to merely entertain you
I could use voluminous vernacular
To get your attention
To me that's like A.D.D
Only temporary
Oh by the way did I mention
It retained only until the ending the show
Not even 5 minutes after I got off the mic
You'd cross my path on the streets
And wouldn't even know me
I'd rather say something
That leaves impressions on your cardiovascular
And vitalises your soul
While setting fire to your spirit
Igniting sparks in your ears
Not only could your eardrums hear it
But your chromosomes feel it

  • Evy Spiritluvchild Trezvant

This being one of my favorite pieces to read, I don't think I could ever deliver it in the same amount of passion it makes me feel. Things happen, we cycle through, and results flourish.
I have had to walk different walks and found different finds, and everytime, had to remind myself of me, and couldn't be,
without you.

Sort:  

This post has received a 3.68 % upvote from @boomerang.

You got a 1.82% upvote from @oceanwhale With 35+ Bonus Upvotes courtesy of @stevestrange! Delegate us Steem Power & get 100%daily rewards Payout! 20 SP, 50, 75, 100, 150, 200, 300, 500,1000 or Fill in any amount of SP Earn 1.25 SBD Per 1000 SP | Discord server

Congratulations @stevestrange! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56690.25
ETH 2380.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33