To Bars, To Friends - The Ode Challenge (Social Interaction)

in #poetry6 years ago

Well met, steemers! It seems I'm slowly becoming a friend of poetry, which I honestly never was in the past. I don't think my previous criteria for not being interested are wrong per-se, but let's just say I was lacking inspiration and motivation.

Steemit, as always, has come to the rescue in that regard.

But enough about me! Allow me to present my entry into @japhofin8or's Ode Challenge, a great initiative undertaken by a great person in love with Odes! Without further ado,

To Bars, To Friends

There’s something about you,
Oh humble bar!
That makes friends, brothers,
And brothers, friends.

“Fetch us some cold ones!”
The night begins.
“Let’s order more!”
The place to be.

It’s cramped, no doubt.
The music, too loud.
But there’s always place,
And our voices we’ll raise.

And then we laugh,
Or tears we spill,
But life’s less rough,
With friends and beer!

Afterword

Lately I've started hitting a local restaurant to sit at the bar and drink cheap beer with my friends. Like poetry, it's something I never really tried in the past, and I've got to say: It's the best. The most bang for your buck, definitely.

Thanks for reading! See you soon, hopefully back on a normal writing post. I enjoy all forms of art, but I need to go back to my essence from time to time.

Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31