Mysteries of Tiny Wars - Steemit Poetry Contest #5

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Greetings, oh online public! It is I, @steemedchitty, with an entry into @terrycraft's Steemit Poetry Contest on it's 5th iteration, dedicated to Evolution. This time I tried to follow form a bit more strictly. What form? Well, some kind of mix between a sonnet and a ballad (?). The point is, I followed rules - Big change for me.

Without further ado,


Source material from JHM

I love the worlds under a lens
that magnifies their glory!
The tiny, simple kinds of life
tell one intricate story!

Like, how did mitochondria
end up living in cells?
Like, how did life even begin,
and go on to raise hell?

The world a coliseum is,
of Darwin-described ways.
On every day a war is waged
to see who gets to stay.

Afterword

How was it? Let me know in the comments! It's my first time participating in this contest but I'm hopeful it'll reach and amuse a lot of people. The theme, evolution, was an interesting challenge, and I had a lot of fun weaving it into poetry.

It's been really hard to keep up with Steemit these days, as Uni and my environment seem to conspire to consume my time down to the millisecond. I hope to change that the following days, however! We must STEEM ON!

Sort:  

Awesome poem! Short and sweet. Clever and to-the-point. I'll bet @terrycraft will love this one.

I sure hope he does! Any tips on getting poetry posts promoted and seen? Some good poetry steemers?

Actually yes, I've got a couple. Mostly though I'm just guessing. As I'm sure you noticed, playing in contests consistently is a great way to gradually get more eyeballs.

I like to constantly go back to the original contest post and check out the new entries. That way, I can comment on new writers' stuff, and they usually find their way to my page.

Have you thought about running a contest of your own? I started a couple this week and they're going pretty well.

Also, are you involved with #thewritersblock at all? Carrie's trying to show me how to get active in chat, but they're a great supportive community of writers.

It's a challenge with poetry. Check out @mindfreak... he does a poem every day, and has a good following.

One more thing. I like to sometimes use "resteeming accounts." It's hard to find one with a decent rep and active followers, but I've seen some good results from paying .5 or 1 SBD for a resteem.
With the Flagging Wars currently in full swing, I wouldn't use minnowbooster right now. Some whales are flagging minnowboosting users, even if they're using it properly. And randowhale is gone... so vote-buying is pretty much out.

Many thanks for taking the time, man! I'll check @mindfreak out. As to vote-buying, it's a complicated business. I don't really like it, but if it exists and people use it, I might as well. Resteem-buying is completely different. It's just like buying advertisement and there's nothing more natural than that! Any recommended service on that end?

Also, @thewritersblock seems like the one thing I HAVE to try yet haven't. Joining groups like that takes time and energy if you really want to add something, to contribute, so I'm trying to get out of university-chaos before I do join up with them.

Really, thank you for the advice!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67386.65
ETH 2614.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66