'The Greatest Currency of All' - ⏰

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Not your dollars,
not your Bitcoins,
not the gold in your floor,
The greatest currency you mostly ignore.

You leave for work to make your dough,
like lemmings off a cliff, we're all part of the show.
Are you really living your best life?
This question, only you can know.

s7.jpg

Dollars and cents, in the bank it all went,
only to be withdrawn and spent.
The difference is with the most precious to you,
when it's gone, it is gone, no more... we know this is true.

One day you may wake up and realise the cost,
you've been spending your greatest currency,
and no worries, stress or sadness can recover this loss.

wasted-time-e1494629506798.jpg

Awakened from nothingness to a life we don't know,
with no teaching of the Universal rule we must follow,
or the knowledge of this currency you which you continuously spend,
which dwindles from birth until the very end.

Cute-Hand-Child-Care-Face-Baby-Sleeping-Sleep-20339.jpg

Your life-account starts full without knowing how much you own.
This amount becomes more apparent when you are fully grown.
You become wise to your body, wise to your mind,
and wise to others to which you become more kind.

The TV you watch, the games that you play,
the blog which you write and the words that you say.
Spending on stress, on anxiety and worries,
never slowing your mind to enjoy life and not hurry.

meditation-feature-1.jpg

Each moment costs time, the most precious of all,
but you must open your eyes and truly want to see!
May you one day look back, be proud, stand tall,
having lived this amazing life as gratefully as any human could ever be.

NOW is the time to open your eyes,
open your mind and realise!
Live your life to it's fullest, which is much easier to say,
but truly learn to live with compassion day to day.

It will be hard, it will be rough, to start on this journey,
a lone path continued by your determination and grit.
As your mind grows strong, the Universe will open,
and you will see you already are perfect, you just couldn't see it.

ThirdEye.jpg

This feeling from the heart, the connection of us all,
to you my words I send.
I wish you the greatest of love, the kindest of friends,
the open heart to feel the greatness of this life...
'til you take your last breath at the end.

Alex_Grey_dying.jpg





Sort:  

this is a very deep poem

Thankyou my new friend :) I'm glad it resonates with you. I've got lots more to come as I've just discovered how much I enjoy writing.

Enjoy the vote and reward!

OMG! The last picture is so scary lol. Btw, my upvote doesn't worth anything 'cuz I'm a newbie here, but I'm posting this comment as a support. If you want, you can check my introduction post and leave me some feedback. And yeah, I'm 17 :) PEACE!

Thanks @lukaluci. The last image is by Alex Grey, check out his other work. Mindblowing! Thanks for the comment, I'm not here for the upvotes as this post suggests money isn't my priority in life, I want to connect and share :) I will check out your intro for sure.

You are welcome! And thanks for visiting my profile ;)

That was warm! Thank you.

You should write children’s books...totally trippy children’s books!

Thanks @whatamidoing. I'd love to write a children's book. I've got a few ideas and illustrated some for other people but must put that on my list for 2018.

Such truth. I’ve spent too many years unhappy, trying as hard as I can to live my best life now.

Wow bro! Ill have to leave a comment when i have more time.

That's beautiful, in the times we are all so focused on currency values rising and dropping and forgetting about the present world. Speaking of which, been on Steemit a bit too long and it's time to get back to life :) Cheers.

oh my. so beautifully written. a very timely reminder as well :)

#TheSteemEngine

Couldn't be more true my friend

Your poem was nicely done. You put some special effort into it ... and it really make a person stop and think about what they're doing with their "greatest currency." It goes past quickly, whether you use it well or not.

Anyway, as I was assembling TDWS a few nights ago, your post made its way into my new curation project The Inbox Runneth Over. You can find your post showcased at this link.

Meanwhile, we are looking at ways to boost your ongoing success in Steemit. After some discussion between us last night, @catweasel and I hit on a plan. See that little treasure in your upvote list from michelcamacaro? That's from us.

That's how we decided to reward the content providers in The Inbox Runneth Over. It more than exhausts our own shared SP trying to keep up with all you guys ... so I recruited some elf and fairy spirit helpers to act on our behalf. We hope you approve. Don't spend it all in one place. Keep writing. I'm waiting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64870.15
ETH 3489.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54