How a Pheonix Must Feel (Original Poem)

in #poetry7 years ago


There are 56 teeth on the zipper
of her jeans. I know, I counted

while we listened
to music that reminded us
of dim lighting and bathrooms.

The sun oozed in, a blanket of light,
igniting the socks I left on.

We became fluent in ash
our words just basic syllables
flaking into the air.

The sweat made us smolder.
Our conversation turned to bedding

while we collected the soot
in a little teal trashcan
beside her bed.


Notes: A love poem invoking heat and passion. I remember building it from the first line, which allowed me to immediately set the focus and attention. Its funny how the little details draw me back to the moments that inspired this poem. Hope everyone enjoys.
Hero Image Source


Previous Posts

Crypto
Career
Poetry
4 Steps...Perfect ICO Investment
Interviewing@Google
The Minstrel's Warning
Expressing the Future of Finance
Resume Review Contest
Brief Perfection


Follow Me|| SomethingSubtle.com || New to Steem? || Minnow Support

Sort:  

Loved it, the intimate details of the counting of teeth personalized it. Also nice post structure :O the bottom of your post is interesting.

Thanks. I'm glad you enjoyed.

And yea, been fiddling with a good footer for a while. Personally, I'm not a huge fan of the gifs people tend to rock, but I still want to encourage folks that are interested to check out my other areas of content.

I love poems like this that speak of making love without vulgar details.

Thanks. Glad you enjoyed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64912.75
ETH 3524.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42