A Working Marriage (Original Poem)

in #poetry7 years ago


A hard pit of emotion is lodged in my throat
Far too much to swallow
Disrespect runs through my veins
Contempt fills a heart that's hollow

I run to the place where I can be me
Paper and Lead are always fair
When your darkness keeps me away
They provide a spark, a flare

Tears of disgust lay in my eyes
My vision is in a haze
You're trapped in your own past
Swearing it is just a phase

Running back to my Paper and Lead
They listen even better than you
My parents out of necessity
They love me most when I’m most true

A sour drop lands in my palm
Satisfied? I shed a tear
Isn’t it obvious yet?
Why I never let you near?

Paper and Lead soothe me to sleep
When you just won’t listen
So caught up with yourselves
You can barely make a decision

A cruel thought hits me then
As I lay in bed
I might not even be here
If Paper married a different type of lead


Notes: One of my earlier poems (hence the rhyme scheme). It definitely encapsulates various feelings I had while growing up, especially my dependence on writing in general. It was nice to escape to verse or stories to express myself in some way. Hope everyone enjoys, and that the ending wasn't too dark.



Previous Posts

Crypto
Career
Poetry
4 Steps...Perfect ICO Investment
Interviewing@Google
Brief Perfection
Expressing the Future of Finance
Resume Review Contest
How a Pheonix...


Follow Me|| SomethingSubtle.com || New to Steem? || Minnow Support

Sort:  

That a very good poem Ty! Follow me back and upvote !

Thanks. I'm glad you liked the poem.

I really enjoyed your poem. You have real talent.

Thanks. I'm glad you enjoyed.
I'll keep them coming.

Good work, thanks for checking out the chat : )

haha sounds like we had similar dependency's on writing, great poem ^_^

Thanks. Glad you enjoyed!

Congratulations @somethingsubtle! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64230.75
ETH 3149.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85