DON’T FLY AWAY

in #poetry7 years ago

image

I pitch this song on the soil of hope
wishing that someday the pinions of the marbled rain
would spread it to depths unseen

This craft is a fissure of art
that broke loose a star
from the walls of a scar

It is the zephyr that radiated light
from the ladder of an unwinged dream

This cranny is the snoring suture of words
that blinded bubbles of ironies
planted smiles of soothing similes
and saw trees usurping might
in the pool of personification
s
u
c
h
that inflamed my lucidity
into a flag of sprouting metaphors

Nkem,
my unshrinking daffodil
you are the bluetoothed goddess in the (d)ark
that builds bridges of uncaged memories
and in your absence my acumen is broken
into a stream of punctured omen

In the voltage of your presence
I melt (sans essence)
and like a besotted tot
I roam and foam in gloam

Inem,
Please don’t fly away

Take me to the days when roses were red
and danger was only a toast
In the banquet of fools

Take me back to the days
when life was uncarved from the clouds
of highlife hues
but the innocence that paraded the morning dew

Oh take me!
to the (k)night of days
when love was an act not only acted
but a sea of tea that flooded the scenes
of unmasked suitors

Take me back
to the crack of dawn
where the greenness of the unwearied grasses
painted a mockery of the sun’s intensity
yet garnered fortune from the feet of the albino moon

I unpitch these songs from the coil that lost its slope_

Ekam during her twilight tales axed our hearts with heartfelt axioms, thus:
“No matter how long a log stays in water, it does not become a crocodile”
"By crawling a child learns to stand”
“One who causes others misfortune also teaches them wisdom”
“If the cockroach wants to rule over the chicken, then it must hire the fox as a bodyguard”.
“Two ants do not fail to pull one grasshopper”
“A single bracelet does not jingle”
“A single stick may smoke, but it will not burn”
“When brothers fight to death, a stranger inherits their father’s estate”
“Money can’t talk, yet it can make lies look true”
“The wealth which enslaves the owner isn’t wealth”
“If ten cents does not go out, it does not bring in one thousand dollars”
“Judge not your beauty by the number of people who look at you, but rather by the number of people who smile at you”

I rescued my voice while lending it to this muse_

Don’t fly away
my tulip like no other
take me back to the days
when patience was the mother of a beautiful child

Let’s fly all the way.

image

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64599.25
ETH 3467.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55