Day 26 - Tales of John; T'is the second World War

in #poetry6 years ago

Matters of the heart no one can comprehend
A desperate attempt to find love
Hopes brutally slain in the mist of compromise
In 1939, in the sky flies a dove
0e7e482869a57cfa1e8dafac0409f78f.jpg
Source

The country, sigil, banner was Gold Coast
Soldiers scattering around, it was world war
John, on the front line with his comrades toast
He was searching for a way to send a message before roar

The roar of motivation sweeps the field
Ideals and loyalties being put to the test
Some run in an attempt to escape to the Goldfield
They never made it far enough before put to rest
rsz_finn_sniper_i.png
Source

Men fly by, John crabs one; I may die today
Her name Mercy, my heartbeat, relay my love to her
If I die, I die to only meet her again one day
Give this to her; soldiers of gold their lives prefer



There's a great movement started to help Steemians achieve greatness on Steemit. Join us on the Steemit school discord server by clicking here

giphy_s.gif

Sort:  

Steemit Ghana Curation Party Show - Wednesday, 2nd April, 2018.

Your name and post was mentioned in the #CurationParty post.

Thanks for making it to this weeks curation party hope to see you next.

Keep Steeming On

This strikes me as I always wish I was around during the world war times....

Whenever I watch a movie of that sort, I yearn to be around.... Nice piece, its got strong words too

Thanks man. Those times inspired greatness in most men but came at the expense of lives. Sometimes, I wish I was born then but I'm grateful I am alive now. Thanks for the read

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Well, we're into the second quarter of the challenge. I'm so glad to be able to read your poems. I like what you did with proper names and numerical time in this piece to make it jump out and have more energy. Your poems always have an extra spark.

Thanks, feels great to write. Feels even better to read others pieces

Interesting

Thanks for the read and comment

great post bro ......you have wet my appetite for army

It's not all rosy, remember that. Thanks for stopping by

Such a great poem...😘 and great pictures to match.

Thanks man. Looking forward to reading yours

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66254.46
ETH 3319.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69