No Stranger Danger - An original poem, the first one I have written in probably 15 years.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Hey Again, Steemitizens!

This post is a departure from my normal minnow school how-tos and educational information, and it's a far cry from the humor and steemes I also tend to put up here for you to laugh at along with me.

This one is dedicated to my new buddy @aggroed, who will understand why this tag's here.

And even moreso, to a stranger who feels dangerous, but for only the best kinds of fear.


Img Source


No Stranger Danger

This one's different.

I am going out tonight.
To meet someone at twilight.
Whom I've never met.
One who's caught my eye,
In an interesting net.

My senses are wakened.
My stomach's in a knot.
But just like my eye was,
So my mind been caught.

Curiosity grips me.
It combats the fear.
I'm ready too early,
Want to get things in gear.

Don't talk to strangers,
Is the advice often doled.
But I feel no stranger danger,
And this makes me feel bold.

I'm excited for the evening,
And in a rush to begin.
The only question remaining,
Is how will it end?

I know only one thing,
And on that I'm assured.
That this one, feels different,
That this one, feels pure.

So I'm away to the night,
Willing butterflies to be still.
May the stars wish us their luck,
Just for a moment, fulfilled.

And just like that, this post is over.

Full steem ahead, steemitizens!

@sircork


The #MinnowSupportNetwork is a minnows best new friend(s!)

Explore our new site at http://MinnowSupportProject.org

Find us on Chat with the PAL/Minnow Support Project peeps at:

https://discord.gg/HYj4yvw

Please also consider tuning into my MSP radio show:

#MondayNightMinnowSchool on The MSP Waves Radio Network

Get more info about this and other great steemit MSP talk-radio shows at:

http://mspwaves.com

Sort:  

And just like that ... I am really impressed @sircork! Did not know you had such talents too!
Thank you!
@progressivechef

And just like that, I have a really cool friend on the other side of the world in paradise :) Who I hope to dine with on his island some day!

Thanks for such nice words @sircork! I wish this come true, I'll make you spend the best time ever on this little paradise Island!

I totally believe it. Your pride for the place sells it VERY well as a must-see place!

Glad to have you back.

wow it's very kind of you to say that. I wasn't sure if anyone noticed I had taken a week or so off. I've been involved with my company and with projects for minnow support that did not involve posting but you'll hear more about those next week and they involve the radio show mentioned above in my post. Your simple message made me smile just because it was so nice. Who knew anybody was paying attention? Thank you again.

Who Knew?

Glad again.

Thank you so much @bchick :)
Come join us in chat sometime! It's a riot!

Where is chat?
I have used discord and slack but my grandson, who is 7, is here this week and by the end of the day I am exhausted. He is giving me a few minutes now while he is reading a book.

What's up bchick? Just checking on you. Hope you are not to tired. We miss you! Have fun🤗🐓

Hot and muggy here. Playing a lot of cards and just hanging around. Oh my this kid can eat! I am tired but that has a lot to do with the weather.
How are you?

Good, been busy running to appointments this week. When is your grandson leaving, maybe you told me already (senior moment)😉 ? What does Lee think about your visitor? 🐓

P.A.L/Minnow Support Project: (MSP) https://discord.gg/kNxM7T6

I'll have to try it next week.

See you there!

What a beautiful poem perfectly penned. The rythm and ryhme is so elegant, makes me wish I wrote this!!! Definitely enjoyed reading this one of my favourite posts. I posted a poem the other day although it pales in comparison to yours, I'd like you to check it out

I definitely will, the day I messaged you asking where you had gone, was the last day I had much time to read, but I'll be reading more today and tomorrow!
Thanks for looking and the compliment!

Well written and expressed. Great work for 15 years off.

Well, I was once a college english major drop out. :D Thanks for reading! :D

Nice to meet you here, @sircork. I'll spend some time being immersed in your thoughts. Glad to know you write (or used to write) poems. Lol. It's a predicament we share. I've not written since I was, say 21. Next week I'll be 28. Life happened 😊. Thanks to the task of creating content lately I've even begun to read my old poems. I hope it'll motivate me to pick up the pen soon. You can read the last one I shared here: https://steemit.com/africa/@misterakpan/africa-an-original-poem 😉

Now I'm going right back to the discord for some "corky" humour 😂😂😂

haha, youve already got my "real" name! (Corky) well done! Ill look at your post for sure, this should be good!

Twenty eight - Life Happened. Sorry but thats funny! :D Im FORTY eight! :D Life happened! You have NO IDEA hahahahahahahahahaha

:P See you in chat buddy!

still young man. I remember feeling like forty-eight must be getting old

Will I live, Doctor?

Here's the poem :D Fantastic!
Thanks for your support with MSP, and the sarcasm :D

Always a pleasure to be sarcastic, and helping MSP is my jam!

So beautiful corky, never thought I'd see the day. <3

No, YOU are beautiful, my man, it's all YOU that brings the beauty. And some lessons for me, nearly every time we share a chat. <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58672.01
ETH 2437.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44