AFRICA. (An Original Poem)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #africa7 years ago (edited)

african_welcome_group.gif

Africa, bitter Africa,
The black mother with sagging breasts that flap
Of feeding the pearl backs that lay on her lap.
Africa, sobered in your checkered past,
Yet gracious in your centrifugal sons that thrive amidst your jailers,
You could have had a statue of liberty to behold
If your oppressors had let your tears still in its dome.
You still remember that salty taste?
You still feel the gutters running down your cheek in Liberia?
They stripped your back of its flesh with their whips,
And all they left for your weary eyes were
Somalia, Soweto, amongst other bitter memories.

Africa, once beautiful Africa,
I’m sure your arms were everything but shriveled,
I’m sure your shape was robust like a model’s
Before the waters of sorrows washed away your curves.
I’m sure that night was still when the owls did sing
A Muzak that enticed the baby king to refuge in your hut—
Cuddled by the fireplace as dinner was made.
You were once full of life like Mona Lisa, the painting that smiles.
Your tunic might have been diamond stoned
And might have had a Gucci etch;
It might have had a lapel and might have been a tuxedo,
But here you are, in your ruins, it’s made just of rags.
You might have been a concrete jungle
With walls that hit the domes of the sky,
But from one end of the Sahara, all I see is
Africa, my present day Africa.

Africa, glamorous Africa,
Your oppressors did leave you bitter memories,
But they didn’t—they couldn’t—go with everything sweet:
Those sturdy pyramids and the great Giza of Egypt,
And the obodom’s audacious, brave beats.
You still own the Zulu and their vuvuzela
That drowned every ear that headed south;
They left you Nelson Mandela
To undo the gnash in your mouth.
Africa, Mummy Africa,
This is a message from your impetuous child.
Africa, I love you, Africa.

July, 2010

image credit

Sort:  

Wow; wonderful poem. I could feel the passion towards your continent in your writting. Great talent!

Thank you. Your remarks mean a lot to me

This is really showing your love for your country and makes me feel terrible about it's history, and our country's history as well. I'm glad we live in a time where you and I can play games in chat and not well... not 200 years ago.

Africa is coming back. People like you will ENSURE IT!

Wow. Amazing words, @sircork. Matter of factly, I just love you the more. And, trust me I enjoy the world without borders that we are all ENSURING to build. Let's do it! 😊

I'm coming for you in PAL

Nice man

Come at me bro! :)

Upvoted and resteemed

Upvoted and resteemed

Appreciated, fam 😊

Nice work, check out mine and give a support. https://steemit.com/poetry/@saintopic/this-life

“Be popular on steemit http://www.doze.io

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by misterakpan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Powerful words my new/old friend. They are haunting and yet hold up hope for a future without struggle. What goes around comes around.

I have a saying...lol...I have many sayings...but here is one I feel apropos to your words here.

~it is okay to look back...back do not stare too long...for tomorrow is right in front of you~

       ~may all hatred cease...let there be peace~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99