The 1111 Writing Contest- The Lake

in #poetry6 years ago

This is a poem/story I wrote for the The 1111 Writing Contest - What magic can you create with only 1111 characters?! - Week 1 - 'The Lake' [TOP PRIZE 3 STEEM + Runner up Prizes!!], hosted by @hartfloepoet.

Imgur



I entered late for this contest. The deadline for this contest was on 3-11-18 at 11:11 pm, but I did not see it until Monday. I always believed that the numbers 111 means to keep your thoughts positive, because your thoughts are powerful and are quickly manifested. I incorporated both the symbol of the numbers, and the prompt which is, “The lake.”

I hope I can catch the next contest before the deadline. Thanks to @hartfloepoet for hosting this contest. Be sure to welcome them to Steemit and join the contest. I would like to suggest @snook look at this contest and consider joining in the fun. I enjoyed this contest and the challenge it provides.



The lake was a dream and meant more than it seemed, but I couldn’t redeem the effects of the feeling.

I wondered around breathing; wondering what I was seeing, but the dream was revealing me while I was kneeling.

Hoping the lake was much more than a symbol, I looked side to side and there was a pebble.

It floated on the water without even a tremble and I reached for the rock, but it began to resemble.

The grief I carried was gracefully consumed. I got on my feet and glanced at the moon.

She was wise; the old rock, and she moved doubt aside.

“I have seen much in life child, find strength in the tide. In your heart you have love, and in love you reside. Cast aside; fear not the life awakened is not only what you see; what is done in this life is the reflection of the dream.”

The mist settled, and the night turned to day.

But the words of the moon gave me a new strength.

I walk in the world but am still in the dream.

For those who are awake are pulled down by gravity.

And the moon on the lake, remind us as the clock hits the ones.

To think of positive thoughts; for negative thoughts can’t be undone.



Recent Posts @simgirl
Day 138: 5 Minute Freewrite: Tuesday - Prompt: syrup
Ten Truths and One Lie Challenge
Constrained Writing Contest #21- The Red Wedding

follower postsimgirl reputation sp

Made by @albertvhons

Simgirlbanner Made by @son-of-satire

wit-list-trans

hr2

pal-sig-anim-trans

hr2

Imgur

Sort:  

Absolutely amazing! I love this <3 Thank you so much... this is a wonderful piece! I will leave my main feedback on the Contest Page...

Sorry you missed the deadline but NOT sorry that you entered any way - I will be sure to post you the contest link for this weeks contest and hope that you will enter again!!

I'll post it at 11:11am today (Guatemala time :) )

With Love
Hart Floe Poet
<3

Thanks so much!!!! I'm glad I found it in the Poets United discord!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64689.90
ETH 3450.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50