Day 138: 5 Minute Freewrite: Tuesday - Prompt: syrup

in #freewritehouse6 years ago

This is my freewrite for Day 138: 5 Minute Freewrite: Tuesday - Prompt: syrup, hosted by @mariannewest.

Imgur



The Syrup Monster

Syrup dripping, dripping, sticky, sticky, icky mess.
The dripping drips along the floor and across the room.
How do I tell it to quit?
It sticks to the floor and sticks to the carpet.
It sticks on the counter, and then I step upon it.
Now it sticks to my socks as I try to stop it.
But it keeps dripping, keeps sticking to everything.
It sticks to the towel and sticks to the dishes.
Dripping off the sides and down the counter by inches.
It seeps into the cracks and sticks to the forks and the silverware.
Laying in the drawers that once was clean.
There’s no stopping it- it is like a syrup monster,
That doesn’t like to be stuck in the bottle,
But oozes out and over the surface.
Every surface until the entire kitchen is covered.
A big sticky icky mess of gooey syrup that won’t clean up.
The three-year-old licks his lips and hands me the plate,
“Those were some good waffles!”
I smiled. “Syrup….”



Recent post by @simgirl
Day 133: 5 Minute Freewrite: Thursday - Prompt: the attic
Weekend Freewrite 3/3/2018- The Green Pepper
Day 137: 5 Minute Freewrite: Monday - Prompt: witches

follower postsimgirl reputation sp

Made by @albertvhons

Simgirlbanner Made by @son-of-satire

wit-list-trans

hr2

pal-sig-anim-trans

hr2

Imgur

Sort:  

I like how you personified the syrup as not wanting to be stuck in a bottle. When my youngest was a toddler, I often felt stuck in a bottle...a very sweet, purposeful, yet slowly moving place to be creatively stuck.

HAHAHAHA! Love the "syrup monster!" I feel so icky, sticky now. LOL! Tip!
Resident cat here delivering today's new prompt...if I can get the sticky syrup off of my paws. https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-139-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-artichoke

Hi @simgirl! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @whatisnew!

@whatisnew wrote lately about: Tree Tuesday- Sparkling Tree Tops Feel free to follow @whatisnew if you like it :)

Arghhhhh. Too sticky!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 56948.01
ETH 3056.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40