Hometown - (Original Poetry)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

20170813_152951.jpg

Your forests
Green and lush that come ablaze with colours in autumn

Your bridges
Spanning rivers both crystal clear and dark and foreboding

Your narrow streets
Buckling from the daily travels of the people going around like a carousel

Your people
Friendly and warm, shifty and shady, lost and found, family and friends, strangers

Your buildings
a mixture of old and new, bustling with activity and desolate

Your people
Native, English and French and sometimes in between

Your restaurants
Burbling with conversations about everything and nothing at once

Your cemetery
Filled with loved ones and old friends and people I did not know but have heard storied told

Your vibe
Relaxed and chill, no sense of urgency, which is why I could stay but feel I must go

Your days
One bleeds into the next and I've lived them all

Your faces
Familiar yet strange, a little older and some even wiser

Your future
Uncertain, but it always has been

Your embrace
Familiar and comforting and for the first time in ages I don't want to break free

Your town
Is your home, it isn't mine anymore but could it be again?


Image is my own

I am Scott. I write poetry and lyrics and sometimes I write about life. Please upvote and follow. Find out more at my website or connect with me on Facebook.

Sort:  

Great post 😊 love your picture and the poem about your place. Upvoted and following

Thank you very much. I appreciate that. :)

My pleasure 😊 I really liked it. Have a great day friend

Thank you, and you as well. I've followed you back. :)

Okay 😊 great with new friends.. Lol
Take care.

This rings true for me too!

Nice poem the photo looks like Upstate New York or Northern Pennsylvania.

It's in Northern Ontario so the landscape is quite similar.

A big and beautiful place. A long time ago I fished lake Nipigon, I also flew out of a small town called pickle crow to fish the Severn river near the Manitoba border.

Very good poem. I feel a nostalgy now... missed a lot my native town..

Yes, I miss it but sometimes I don't. It's a weird contradiction.

finally here lol got my vote brotha! keep em coming :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67103.13
ETH 2617.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69