Dogma (Original Poetry)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

people-2590594_1920.jpg

Dogma
Doggerel
Incontrovertible but lacking
any form
If I were to read this out loud
I would be stuttering and stammering my way through
I am divided like we are divided
Oh you jackbooted thugs in costume playing a role
Oh you white knight heroes wearing black masks
Oh you on the fringe with your machine gun keyboard fingers
Oh the rest of you (most of you) that fall in the reasonable middle
I am not a product in a department store to be labeled
I don't fit where you want me to fit despite your best efforts to mark me with a scarlet letter
You scream tolerance at the top of your intolerant lungs
You won't put a swastika on my forehead because I disagree with you
I'm going to close my eyes and stop seeing you
It's better for my soul if I just stop hearing you
Your incontrovertible truth is rigidity
Your mind is about as open as a bank vault
Take your poisoned chalice and drink freely from it
There's no need to share it with me.
I'm not thirsty for your brand of refreshment
Let the "heroes" of free speech and tolerance wage war
I'll speak for myself through verses of hopes and dreams
It's time to let go
You can prosper or burn without me


Image is my own

I am Scott. I write poetry and lyrics and sometimes I write about life. Please upvote and follow. Find out more at my website or connect with me on Facebook.

Sort:  

These are difficult times.

nice detailed post?

Wow, great imagery! Powerful stuff. Resteemed and upvoted :)

Thank you very much @deemarie. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64561.21
ETH 3418.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57