Ode to an iPhone - It's the end of the road for my first true lovesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

ode to iphone.jpg

This poem was written out of respect for my iPhone 4 which has served me so well and for such a long time!

I could not let it go without first sharing my love and appreciation here on Steemit, this time in the form of a heart-felt poem.

Screen Shot 2017-07-11 at 11.59.29.png

You came to me as good as free, delivered to my door.
‘Fell off the back of a lorry mate’, yet boxed still from the store.
I jumped at the chance! It was love at first glance.
Your origin a mystery. Your old life just history.
In truth it was frankly quite plain to see, your functions were all that mattered to me.

‘My precious’ I whispered into your ear.
Live access to EVERYTHING was finally here!
Hours upon end I held your glass, softly against my skin.
Hours upon end I caressed your power, connected to the world within.

You showed me apps beyond my dreams to while away the days…
Angry Birds were the first to catch me in the micro-gaming craze!

You came to me at the perfect time when plans of travel were growing,
And for many long years you gave me maps to show me where I was going.

A pocket sized camera with 16G drive,
Hours of music to keep me alive!

An alarm clock to wake me,
Vibrations to shake me!

A dictaphone, calculator,
reminders and more…

This phone was really
a computer at core.

You saved my life by showing me mushrooms
I definitely shouldn’t be eating,

And this is the one of the main reasons now
I speak the words I am speaking.

Eternally grateful I will always remain, but goodbyes are so hard without sadness & pain!

Now that you have been destroyed by my child, it is time to release you out to the wild.

Please don’t take it personally but a new lover I have now.

Her name is Android and she is better somehow...

For one thing the blockchain is visible to see, with wallets & Steemit available to me.

At all times my partner will stay at my side and my excitement is almost impossible to hide!

But forever dear iPhone you will remain to be the one which showed me this technology.

The phone which taught me to never to say never deserves a place on the blockchain forever.

white-android-logo_00039624.jpg

Screen Shot 2017-07-11 at 11.59.29.png

Sort:  

Awesome poem!

There's actually a new ODE contest going on right now! How do you feel about "broken lawn chairs"???? 🍃🍂


I curate #poetry and posts with the tag #onehumanbasket
Find out more in the NEW Poetry Dice Challenge

Thank you my friend. I wish I had more time in my life for poetry. They tend to catch me in the moment and I write about something close to my heart, so it will be tough fitting your suggested themes. But I love what you are doing and I wish you every success with it!

OMG! Lol I love this! I can't choose which one line is the best. You should send this as an entry. I just saw a content for an ode. I'll find the link and edit this when I do.

EDIT: Ode Challenge Poetry Contest #1

Many thanks for the link. I did see this but sadly am not very good at making poems on demand. The subject must be close to my heart to get that fire burning!

Ah, well hopefully a topic comes up down the line that stirs something in your heart. It'll be awesome to see your entry :) But I digress. Your kid is super cute <3

Thanks. I will keep an eye out for your themes :)

Very good poetry . Very well done. Keep it up. Nice illustration of technology. Awesome creativity. Great work. Upvoted. 👌

Thanks very much for the comment :)

I very much enjoyed writing this!

Hahahahahaha.

Sorry. I wish you luck and a new phone :)

Thank you! I think I have found one now :)

@samstonehill what a good way to honor your Iphone...it must be so happy and gald.

Thanks. I felt like this was the BEST way I could honor it ;)

Welcome...try to steemit and power it up....haha

nice post, thanks for sharing!!

My pleasure. I enjoyed writing it :)

@samstonehill thanks for sharing!! Upvote and followed you!!

Thanks very much :)

Haha Sam you are a poet. RIP dear phone! I still got a 3GS at home, but it is more like a decoration ;-)

Well, I couldn't really say that I was a poet but I do enjoy giving it a go sometimes. When I find the right subject deserving of a poem ;)

Like you, I will find it hard to throw this phone away. And it will probably also become decoration!

Oh wow... speaking of durability... I hope the latest generations of iPhone is as sturdy as this old flame of yours @samstonehill

I suspect they won't be... but let's see!

Thanks for the comment :)

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jul 11. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $14.52 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jul 11 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67200.37
ETH 3331.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77