POEM: OUT OF TOUCHsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

IMG_2445.JPG

OUT OF TOUCH I.

When she prods
She plans
To descend from distances
Too far to measure

When she speaks
She stands
Over those carrying
Bountiful bags of sand

When she talks
Feathers flee
With worry weights
From times gone by

As though suffering's past
Commutes the present pain
By tallying troubles

IMG_2442.PNG

OUT OF TOUCH II.

You left letters in my room
And more letters throughout the house

You dreamed and told me a few
Stories fragmented by time

I rushed and overworked my pleas
And asked you to take your things

I closed my eyes just to finish off
Your fractional reverie

IMG_2443.PNG

OUT OF TOUCH III.

In the land of milk
Honey drips
Cash outside

Bees bustle and brim
Combs drain on a watch
Whimkeepers coat their eyes

I am too poor to stare
For these wealth gushes
Throb my stomach all the more

I, unlike you, don't have the time
To walk out of the door

IMG_2444.PNG

OUT OF TOUCH IV.

My comrades know
The disbelief I hold

As though the pain I carry
Is any less real

When you say "Worse could come."
And say "You barely suffer."

My comrades come
Like fire fragrances
And exigent embers

They sit on the charcoal
Hold the hearth hem
And smolder the stories
You've put out


Sources:

https://unsplash.com/@pumabg
https://unsplash.com/@clemono2
https://unsplash.com/@bady
https://unsplash.com/@the_real_napster

Sort:  

Excellent post dear friend @rubenalexander thank you very much for sharing this beautiful poem, I am passionate about poetry, luckily more and more people are uploading poems to the platform, congratulations for this beautiful poetry

Thank you. It is great to see you appreciate these words. I have been posting more to empty myself of routine and force a search for techniques used by older poets. Here are some words from Emily Dickinson that have recently moved me.

XVIII

THE SHOW

The show is not the show,
But they that go.
Menagerie to me
My neighbor be.
Fair play --
Both went to see.

-- Emily Dickinson

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of May 03. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.96 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 03 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61672.72
ETH 2996.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78