To Life Shall We DancesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Being on the stage of life
I always showed up
To interact with the many
Connected to me; at work ,at play, my family.

And then the days and seasons arrived
When the people I thought I knew,
Revealed to me another side.

And the ground beneath me shook
The unexpected had come suddenly
Bringing darkness in which I quickly hid.
Feeling shame,... at the audience I could not look

I lost my wings to fly
And withered back to a cocoon that used to be a butterfly

I wept through all my pain and misery
I struggled and reached for that place called serenity
I begged I pleaded to all throughout the seasons
Yet on that fateful day
They all turned and walked away

Magnified was my pain
What was once just a drop of loneliness
Had now become a stormy rain

What’s a girl to do
When life as you knew it divorces you?

Gaining courage, I walked to the edge of the stage and faced
The audience who had risen as they watched me fall.
Some were laughing, some threw me roses,
As they cried and shouted “bravo for withstanding it all!”

Then I knew what next I would do.
Until the end of my days I’m just gonna dance.

Dance
Away from being a victim

Just Dance
And again shall I dance on…
Reconnecting with life’s beauty and gifts to me.

Dance
Until all my dreams come true
Until I right all wrongs, I will dance anew.

So I danced doing the Tango
As I remembered how they hurt me so

I danced as a Ballerina on toe
As I channeled the word ‘Bravo!’

I did a little Tap
And the Salsa too
Which gave birth to new energy
To create a life that was meant to be.

I shifted to doing a little jig of Jive
And then a Contemporary flow, extending legs and arms
In all direction that drew to me a magnetic reflection
That later in life I would need to succeed.

I continued to dance the whole night through
As the audience dwindled down to the faithful few
To the ones that celebrated my life on cue

And as I danced back to center stage
I was met by new people with new roles to play.

With one I danced the Cha Cha
A medicine, a remedy
To release dead weight that clung to me.

I danced new steps and did complicated moves to my surprise
I danced to become a person I did not recognize.

I danced life’s rhythms back to the soul of me.
I did Hip Hop on the train
Doing smooth moves I made it rain.

And too I sang a new song of beautiful boldness
As I moved forward into wholeness.

Now I hear life’s true melody
To which I move in my power and security
Transmuting heartbreaks back to love again,
On the stage of life, as they watch me dance.


dance
Image by pinimg.com

dance
photography by Tasha by Vadim Stein Dance Photography

Sort:  

I lost my wings too and know much of what you speak. How i would love to dance!

Thank you for stopping by and sharing, @girlwithoutwings, I will be showing up on your blog.

Thanks a lot for such amazing post. Also I would like to say that it's not just the dance, when you feel sad just do those things that you love whether it's dancing or listening to music, doing workout.. it can be anything..

So true @aloksharma3078. I welcome the reminder and I will be doing other things as well, such as singing and listening to music and I love many different kinds of music, which I find very soothing and entertaining. Thank for taking time to read my poem and for stopping by. Please come often.

I loved it @rensoul17. It moved and flowed like all the types of dances you listed. And too it brings a deep message to me, to be a rolling stone that doesn't gather density from the hatred and negativity, but rather to be light like a feather that flutters into the next-level brightness of the aether that hovers...

Thank you @d-pend, your comments means so much to me, especially on this one, I worked on it for a couple of days....fine tuning. I love it also and rarely do I say that about my work. I am indeed my biggest critic. Thanks for reaching out.

Yes I can tell you put a lot into this one. Although, I always enjoy your work. I admire the smooth flow of your writing and draw a lot of influence from it. We definitely are always our own biggest critics. Hope all is well with you and we ought to touch base soon... I've been busy the past few days and I know you're always staying busy! Wholeness @rensoul17

Yes lets do that.

Loading...

!originalworks

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @d-pend. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @rensoul17 to be original material and upvoted it!

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @OriginalWorks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

This post has received a 5.92 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @d-pend.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by rensoul17 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 1.04 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56162.63
ETH 2368.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31