Poetry Trail's Steemit Slam #1 ~ Closing Doors (Original Poetry)

in #poetry7 years ago

Greeting Steemit followers and family, This is my poetry entry for the PoetryTrail Steemit Slam #1 - Theme: Leaving. This poem (Closing Doors) was written during a past relationship where I suffered a lot of verbal abuse and mistreatment overall. Writing this poem and others was a healing of sort that helped me stay strong and find my way out to a better place, a place where once again I can breathe and see life clearly.

Closing Doors

On the outside I appeared to be living life as usual and things were as they should be, it may have seemed. Yet if one would dare to look within they would see my reality. It is a story that should never be told, and it need not be if we love and cherish those we say we care about.

I closed the door
of my heart to you, when you refused to stop verbally abusing me.

I closed the door
of my joy to you, because you continued to bring me pain and rain that suffocated my light and my energy.

I closed the doors
of my eyes to you, when beauty in you I could no longer see, instead I saw hatred and coldness in your heart that haunted me.

I closed the door
of my mind to you, when you tried to program it with as you say
my failures, my worthlessness, and my ignorance,
which places me as you see it and as you said it,
beneath you and not at your level, to walk with you,
so you let go of my hand.

Not far away from that final door, the physical door
To this house which is no longer a home
As I will walk through it now, I am closing it behind me
forevermore.
~Ren Soul 17

closing doors

closing doors

closing doors

closing doors

Images by pixabay

Sort:  

Very well written! Sorry for the pain you had to go through... But thank you very much for taking part and sharing this with us!

Thank you @poetrytrail. I hope that by sharing my story it will inspire others. Thank you also for hosting this steemit slam. Its a great opportunity and I am happy to be in the space with all of the other magnificent poets, storytellers and writers. Much success to you all!!

Oh Wow!! thank you so much @minnowbooster and @d-pend. You made my day which until now had not been a good one. Now I'm re-motivated and full of joy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62948.49
ETH 2583.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74