Papa-Pepper's Wild and Strange Poetry Contest: Round 4, A Poem About Steeming SquatchsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

A month ago, @papa-pepper launched a contest to celebrate his Steemit successes and give back to the community at large by offering prize purses for participation.

One is never certain how popular or how well a contest will be received.

If hardly anyone participates then there isn't much of a challenge levied and if loads of individuals participate then it becomes more onerous to judge who the winners will be or should be.

Either way, there is responsibility to fairly administrate the game and expectations become set.

This will be my fourth week participating in this particular contest. It seems to have become a series of weekly, friendly and witty competitions. 

Every week, @papa-pepper has generously and fairly distributed 50 Steem to each winner. 

Last week he added a new feature called a "Wild Card" prize. I was lucky enough to be one of the recipients of this award, which was given at @papa-pepper's discretion. It was worth 5 steem.

Steem is Steem and I am grateful for the gift. I know this little golden egg will keep growing over time.

Participating in contests provide an additional opportunity for any Steemian to earn some extra Steem, especially if you are just starting out.

It also fosters a stronger sense of community. It provides an additional environment for people to exercise their creativity, meet others and have some fun in the process...all while continuing to learn how the platform works and often from others who may have more experience.

If you are interested in participating in this week's contest, you can read about it here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@papa-pepper/papa-pepper-s-wild-and-strange-contest-round-4-poetry

Last week's winning entry was a meme created by @meesterboom.

(Congratulations to him for his great entry.)

I have included it here for your viewing pleasure:

This week's contest involves writing poetry using @meesterboom's meme as the subject matter.

Here's the poem that I have written and submitted before Sunday's deadline:

 Sasquatch scream loudly with a big whoop and a strong tree knock.
It’s a way for them to communicate without a lot of empty mindless talk.
I confess that in all my years as a human, I have never really seen it.
I know they exist because they’ve already joined the platform, called Steemit.
They have no fear of humans and are paid handsomely from day to night,
With the power of a PC’s light, they have rep scores that are out of sight.
They like to collect cryptocurrencies and their favourite is called steem.
They do this is by regularly contributing and creating the funniest meme.
 

All poems must be submitted as a comment to papa-pepper's post about it. (The one I have included.)

It must rhyme and it must be 8 lines long.

I encourage you to take a minute and read some of the fantastic entries. 

Please upvote and follow your favourites.

Join the fun by commenting and entering your own submission.

Contests, like most things, work better when people participate and become engaged in the process.

I welcome your comments and invite you to follow me on my journey.

~Rebecca Ryan


Sort:  

Also, reduce post to four tags!!!!

See my latest post for more info!!!!

Thanks for both the gif and this tag info...
That explains why my risk to get close to the flock of 75 wild turkeys received substantially fewer upvotes.
I edited these post tags, but I don't know if it will be too late to make any difference.

Right, just use four in the future until you hear otherwise!

Here to help, Papa cares!

Thanks and I feel it and will share it too.
I have resteemed your post, @timcliff 's and @jacobcards ' posts about this issue. Hopefully the information will continue to spread. :)

Great entry @rebeccaryan. Good luck in the contest. :)

Thank you @merej99!
I really liked yours too and I thought it was really neat that so many people have submitted entries.
Great participation.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 17. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.46 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 17 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72