THE FARM ~ A (sorta) Metaphysical Poem

in #poetry7 years ago

The Farm

image.jpeg
1

One day I saw a scarecrow
a bird
and a farmer
On a desolate field
green and lonely under the moon

And I wondered
if the scarecrow knew
that it deprived the hungry bird of food;
would the crow come alive one day
and take its prisoner’s flight?

And I wondered
when--not if--
the hungry bird will figure out
that the scarecrow is deprived of life;
would the bird lose its flight one day,
and take the farmer’s land?

And I wondered finally, if the farmer knew,
that he is a part of them.
The scarecrow
deprived of life.
The hungry bird
deprived of food.

One day the farmer shall wake,
and watch
as his distant soul, finally,
seizes its illusion of life and flight.


Thanks to the guys at TheWritersBlock for helping with the draft.


image.png

Sort:  

I didn't know you were a poet! Guess I need to go back and read some of your older post. I really like the use of "flight" throughout, so many meanings! Can't wait to see more of your work!

Oh thanks. I've only posted like two poems on Steemit though.

Great poem @rasamuel. I love the subtext.

One day the farmer shall wake,
and watch
as his distant soul, finally,
seizes its illusion of life and flight.

I particularly like the way it concludes. This follows up the imagery and ideas from the previous verse quite well. Nice work :-)

Thanks raj. Feels good coming from a fellow poet.

That's the point, brother. Everyone is a part of the whole. Thou art that. Thanks for getting it.

I really like this poem. It brings to mind the circle of life, and leads to the question: what is life? Very nice. Upvoted and resteemed.

Thanks much. I'm glad you like it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62740.92
ETH 3354.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46