You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #12 SIN CHRONICLES | MY NIGHTMARE

in #poetry6 years ago

Hi @warpedpoetic,

I really love the entirety of this poem! Often when I comment on a poem I will pick out my favorite images and elaborate on why I like them so much but I find it difficult to do that here as it flows and works so well in its totality.

The theme of this poem is one that is close to my mind always, and I think it is brave for you to express, so eloquently, on steemit as there are many religious peeps who might take offense. But this is the beauty of steemit to me, the free-flow exchange of ideals and thoughts which can't be censored. The ambivalence I feel towards organised religion resonated strongly as I read this poem and I hope that I have interpreted it right. For me it expresses the dark underbelly of religon through history, the wars perpetrated in the name of whatever gods. The strife and division created through competing schisms of what, when you come down to the core values, are very similar belief systems. The unending exploitation of the poor and in poverty by both political and religious entities, often working hand in hand. What is so frustrating is that in most cases, religious people just getting on with their lives, worshiping in peace and following their value systems have nothing to do with this power dynamic. They are just good people living by a decent set of values.

Ha ha, anyway that was a bit of a rant. I am running a regular curation segment on the Whaleshares discord server on Monday evenings called literature corner. I wondered if you would be available to chat on a live curation discussion on Monday 21st May. This post will be awarded a 30 Whaleshares vote on the night, as well as the vote of some of the curators. It would be great if you have a microphone maybe to this poem and perhaps to answer some questions about your influences/inspirations etc. I read this poem out to myself just now and will be happy to read it out myself if you're not keen on doing so.

The event will be held in The Curation Lounge on the Whaleshares server.

DQmQxGNZVEUz5wC8T8N9ko7FebX4jEnyBHUTHx7X28tuQLK_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

You have indeed read the core of my writing. I think every dark poetry or prose that I have written stems from my dissatisfaction with religion, with the options for man, with death and afterlife, with sin. Yet I am a Christian but not in the sense of a zealot blindly imbibing everything my pastor says. I have seen too much of the harm blind belief causes.


What is so frustrating is that in most cases, religious people just getting on with their lives, worshiping in peace and following their value systems have nothing to do with this power dynamic. They are just good people living by a decent set of values.

Exactly @raj808, they just want to worship in peace, serve God the best way they know how to but so called religious leaders hungry for power will not let them be.


I will be honoured to be on the show. I didn't know about it and I am excited to have finally found it. I will be there every time henceforth as long as my internet service is of good behavior.

I might read it, I am quite shy, so it's a maybe. I will try though. I have read at evecab's show on promo-mentors , so...

Thank you for your lovely comment. I don't know if you observed the images I tried to create with the words?

Yes, I agree that it is often the leaders and the scent of power that sickens their spirit, that ruin things and corrupts religion to serve politics. I am not surprised to hear that you are a christian, I was unsure, or surprised that you would express these iniquities so well coming from a place of knowledge within the faith. I am atheist but this in now way blinds me to all the good that most religious folks perpetuate in the world through charity and love.

That is fantastic that you will read the poem out yourself @warpedpoetic, a poem is always better read out in the poets voice. I will DM you on discord nearer to the time but I am happy you excepted. Here is a poster image for the show just so that you can see the times it is on etc.

DQmWx78Z5y43uqmCExJyULCgCtk9a3LHbCNJqBDa2X7u4Pe.jpg

Thanks man. I think in my own case I have too much doubt about where I am going and what I need to do. I see so much pain and it makes me question everything. I believe in God but my belief is personal, not based on any certain doctrine.

I will do my best in the reading. I better get to rehearsing... 😂
I will use a time converter to get the times in GMT. Thank you @raj808

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59347.70
ETH 2534.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47