You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ode to an Ancient Statue - Tribute to the English Romantics - Writers Block Poetry Contest Week 3

in #poetry7 years ago

So many great verses and images in this poem @carmalain7. I love the way you have taken the form and made it sing! I find the archaic forms of poetry so hard to write successfully in myself.

Empyrean shell leaks red then blue,
Time honored lines 'cross a furled brow,
The early bird moves a mouse or two
'neath his early plow.

I particularly love the way you blend vivid visual imagery:

Empyrean shell leaks red then blue, Time honored lines 'cross a furled brow

with a more modern term (The early bird) in the above verse. Very nice stuff :-)

Sort:  

Kinder words have hardly ever been spoken, @raj808, thank you so much, mate!

I love that stanza and it was one that I reworked a number of times with a lot of input to get to where it is now. Much praise to my proofreaders for their help, and so happy you found value in those words!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57940.42
ETH 2359.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36