I Must Be

in #poetry8 years ago

I must be the last sip of wine in a lady's glass,
I must be the dried beer that sticks to the sole,
I must be the cigarette half smoked, discarded,
Retrieved by seagull and rejected again.

I must be the pennies given to the crone,
Tossed back to protect her pride,
I must be the crumbs overlooked by pigeons in winter,
The oil pool making rainbows in sunlight,
Under engine spewing toxic fumes,
Which I must be too.

I must be the mosquito stuck in clenching muscle, exploding overfull,
I must be moth and mayfly, hypnotized by false moon,
I must be invalid bee's stinger deployed,
In fleeting valor to protect the unassailable,
I must be the spider devoured by wasp.

I must be the forced smile and the furrowed brow,
The withheld tear and the stifled scream,
The taxing dream and the hidden fear,
The misplaced hand, the falling sand.

I must be though,
I must be though,
I must be though,
So I am.

Sort:  

Absolutely beautiful, thanks for sharing this!

Very welcome, thank you!

Really good. A nice poem. Thank you for posting it here!

Thank you!

Congratulations! Your post has been featured in the Blog Spotlight newsletter, which highlights original content here on Steemit. Please upvote some of our other featured posts from other authors. And keep up the great work!
Link: https://steemit.com/blogspotlight/@donkeypong/blog-spotlight-issue-4

Wow thank you! Truly honored.

I love the mental imagery this poem conjures in my head! Thanks so much for sharing it!

I found this on @donkeypong's Blog Spotlight which I was also honored to be on. I'm glad he featured you, as it brought me here.

Nice imagery. Upvoted you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60257.31
ETH 2427.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44