Mr. Brightside (Original Poem)

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)

All blue (hyperlinked) lines are taken from the superb song Mr. Brightside by The Killers.
The link takes you to their music clip on Youtube in case you want to listen it.


Mr. Brightside (Original Poem)

Brasil Steemit

Coming out of my cage,
where I slept in the dirt.
Next to me in the heat lies a crinkled skirt,
Dizzying head, I paid a high price.
Escaped the rules,
can hardly remember what happened.

It started out with a kiss
on the beach over there.
But most of the night’s memories are blur.
Can’t remember the last time
I was so intoxicated.

How did it end up like this?
Brazilian beauty, swinging hips,
a vicious smile and sweet cherry lips.
Wait, was there a pill on her tongue?
Can’t remember the whole thrill.

And my stomach is sick.
Never again will I look out for such a kick.
Shaking of the pain,
my feet carry me through hot sand.
Crystalline blue water freshes me up,
I am ready to seize the day -

Cause I'm Mr. Brightside

Steemit Beach


Gifs Sources: Giphy - 1 - 2

Sort:  

Mr. Brightside... thanks for sharing!

Haha Cheers .. how did you come up with your name? Influenced by the song by any chance?

The song definitely inspired me. 💡 Not a fan of the dark side though haha. Cheers!!!

Nice poem! I look forward to reading more of your work.

Good, interesting post!

Cheers team101!

And who knows - maybe "The Killers" will step by to check it out?

I started a try over twitter:

Didn't know that song! Hearing it now and I like it! :D

haha .. isn't it catchy :D?!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64848.13
ETH 3173.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55