[Setting Suns Descend], 30 Day Haiku and Color Challenge (red) @brokemancode @kalemandra

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

chromatic lanterns
the lunar new year is fête
setting suns descend

thumbnail_IMG_4970 (1).jpg

The photo was taken in Vancouver's Pacific Center's entry atrium. Perhaps one of the most impressive displays of Lunar New Year lanterns in the city. I was taken with how they resembled setting suns and yet they mark the passing of the moon's year. There is some symbolic irony for you:)

Alternative version if we do not use a 5/7/5 form but attempt the greatest brevity and simplicity

red lanterns
lunar new year
suns fall

Which do you prefer?

Sort:  

Very nice Haiku, setting sun in the Lunar New Year.
Awesome image...

Thank you, Moon. Some sites scream for a haiku to be written about them:)

Great example of Haiku-ing outside the box...got to love those :)

Thank you, Jey-blue. Haiku is such contentious poetic sport ... best to cover the basis:)

I must say, though I am a fan of packing as much essence in as little amount of writing as possible, I like your 5/7/5 traditional haiku a bit more. I'm having trouble actualizing why exactly, but I think it may be that in the first haiku you are giving the reader more of your perception of an idea, vs. the second one where I fill in the blanks with how I feel. I already know how I feel, though. It's much more fascinating to have a tour in someone else's head

I actually wrote ... the 5/7/5 one first. I like it too because it has some word play that the second does not. The thing about haiku written in Japanese kanji is that it is pictorial ... because kanji is symbolic and not a phonetic written language. To get the same layers in English, I think ... just my opinion, that more adjectives and careful word choice is needed. But it doesn't take long to offer both takes. Choice is always good:) Thanks for popping in:)

I really like the combination of your haiku and lantern photography. The lantern colors are amazing!

Thank you, Jayna:) Much appreciated:)

Thank you, Jayna:) Much appreciated:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63989.15
ETH 2749.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66