Poetry Pileup - September 17th CollectionsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry8 years ago

I have not been so actively engaged in reading and writing poetry in over a decade. Thanks Steemit for giving me so much to read, and so many people to follow and converse with! Here's who's catching my attention today:





















@abarefootpoet

opens an introspective window into his own existentialism. A lot of his work is in this vein, and it caused me to follow him a few weeks ago. It's always a relaxed, open-minded vibe that comes with reading his work and I always look forward to catching his posts. If you aren't checking out his work, you should be.

@modernbukowski

kind of just came onto my radar, having just signed up a week ago (from the looks of his profile). I'm really happy to be following this person, there's a visceral beauty in the poems I've seen. I'm just getting through some of his stories now, and while he's self-admittedly still finding his poetic voice, I'm really digging everything I'm seeing. I like watching others come into their poetic own, and I anticipate more from the modernbukowski in the days to come.

@bbrewer

His blog isn't full of poetry, but that's okay because this piece was a cool nostalgic trip up in an air balloon that felt like a metaphor for life. This was a nice read, and I hope this author will consider writing some more.

@puffin

brings a deep pro-nature piece today that paints a deeply poignant picture of how much of nature is being degraded. Their blog has only recently been writing poetry, but each piece is pretty powerful and it's clear that this author is not hesitant to write about the hard stuff. I'm a fan of that, and a fan of puffin.



So that's who I'm reading today. Who are you reading? Put some comments in the below and share links so I can catch up, and don't forget to follow to catch the next Poetry Slam Challenge #3!


@prufarchy

Sort:  

Thanks for the heads up on these SteemPoets, and thanks again for fanning the poetic flames around this joint. I'm curious, did you write lyrics for those bands you were in back in the day?

Thanks greatdabu, and yeah I was in charge of lyrics and vocal melodies

Same here, @prufarchy!! I haven't been this engaged in reading and writing poetry in over a decade!!! :-O Loving the line-up!!! It's so great to be able to read and connect with so many other poets!!! I get inspired everday and THAT is what I think I am addicted to!!!! :-O #longliveart! XO Cheers <3

It's kinda great to be able to wake up and check out fresh poetry each day :)

I'm writing a serial poem and I'd like to include it in the next poetry slam, but I'm not sure if that would violate the rules? The poem, once done, will be quite long, so I'm writing and publishing it in pieces.

I guess it depends on what the challenge theme will be for the next time and if that aligns with the part of your epic. It sounds cool though.

Oh, there's a theme? Okay, well that probably wouldn't work then. But I'll still check it out. When is the next one?

Should be posting it by tomorrow! I look forward to your entry :)

How did I miss this post? Anyhow I'm very flattered and I very enjoyed the analysis on other writers also. Keep doing this, I just discovered new people to follow thanks to you. Thanks :)

PS! Charles Bukowski on the image didn't go unnoticed ;)

You missed it because you haven't developed an obsession with following my posts... yet.

Just kidding. I'm digging your work, so I'm sure you'll be coming up more. Thanks for being a weird, cool writer :)

Thanks for the mention! Glad you enjoyed the ride.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68394.30
ETH 2644.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69