You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: To Measure a Place

in #poetry7 years ago

Great post, and definitely love is about being present to another, to a place, and there is not enough love in the world, there is too much indifference. One thing I struggle with is the way so many people seem to have no interests, no sense of discovery or ambition. They show a mask of indifference to the world, but in a sense they are hiding their true selves behind a mask. They are afraid to love, and that is their personal tragedy which in time flows out into others. Indifference begets indifference and love begets love. We are here for such a short time to measure this space together. Thanks for reminding me.

I like that you have a deep interest in Sumerian culture and ancient ways of being which are fundamental. The past is a foreign country and it is great to open doors and conjecture on what we have to learn from ancient cultures and peoples. * years ago I did an amateur production of Inanna in the Underworld with a group of Czech friends. I wrote the play in verse in English and we translated it to Czech. For me a a foreigner my life sometimes feels like a journey to the underworld. In Prague there is a strong goth sensibility, a tragic sense of history. I like how Inanna's journey is one of sacrifice and escape. Her sister/twin is trapped forever in the shades of death and Inanna must die to go there, but she fulfills a rebirth there and is reborn herself, thus explaining each new spring. Certainly you know much more about it than I do. Anyway we only performed the play once in a basement bar. Here is part one, with English subtitles, performed in a somewhat somnambulent way. Kind of dreamy.

Sort:  

Wow, this video is incredible. I'm going to send it along to some of my former classmates. Years ago we did a translation of that text (into English, of course), so it's surreal to hear it in Czech. Thank you so much for sharing this. I can't even explain to you how incredible it is it is that someone came on here and read this and contributed something so magical. I wrote another article on here about Enheduanna, the woman who is the first known poet in history, which talks about Sumerian literature, if you're interested.

I'm glad you like it, I think there are 2 or 3 parts on youtube altogether, and you can read the English by clicking CC .. I rewrote the original a bit, added some poetic license but stayed close to the original story. I have a few books on Sumeria, it's pretty fascinating. Also I think of the Iraq marshes that Saddam Hussein had drained, those were the last vestiges of old Sumeria, am I right? There's an old Nat Ge magazine about the marshes of Iraq ... Anyway that just came to my mind. I'll definitely check out your post and its great to find you here. I'm looking forward to your posts. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68236.23
ETH 2643.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70