You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Faith (Poetic Prose)

in #poetry6 years ago

I loved the questions raised in this piece. Growing up in a religious household (and no longer being religious), there are a lot of inconsistencies that are taught as dogma.

Man (not woman), is created in the form of God, something holy and infinite. Yet, man is damned to suffer and needs salvation, and so man is endlessly trying to achieve this salvation for he is damned by the same God that wants to save him. It's a very masochistic relationship that a lot of humans have with God, and it's sad that a lot of people don't question anything. I believe that religion has to be a personal relationship and resolution, and it is silly how a lot of people follow a religion blindly, without ever using logical or ethical reason, except I was taught so.

Sort:  

Isn't that the point of dogma? That you take it on faith, that it is an axiom and is taken as true, and you use it to prove other things? Silly people, trying to question axioms being axioms. But of course, that is the way of rationality.

I think religion is exactly there so you wouldn't question everything. Because it's a much harder life, to be asking questions, especially when there are no answers.
There's a reason the image of God to so many is of an old man who keeps them safe, looking over them, tells them right from wrong.

I don't think it is silly at all. There are good reasons for it. It is just not true for what I think of life, or of myself, or of what use our brains are.

I never looked at that way. I know some people study and choose faith for their own reasons, and for some faith makes sense. You are right though, dogmas are unquestionable because of what they are. My mind ponders on a lot of questions, and I am comfortable with having questions that cannot be answered, but I understand that for others, without the answers, life doesn't mean anything.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51