You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ANIMALS - the complete series of poems and illustrations (with cover illustrations), by @bennettitalia

in #poetry6 years ago

I loved this series. The first one has to be one of my favourites. The abstract is so unique - it is inspiring. The ending of that poem was incredibly genius:

If animals could talk?
"Those people are animals"

It was an interesting concept to write about. I love combining poetry and art; it adds depth. "And See Them" was also one that I quite enjoyed. I liked that each poem spoke for itself, different lengths and forms, different levels of abstractions. Together, they are cohesive, but they also remain powerful and meaningful in their individual posts.

Sort:  

Wow... thank you Jeremy! It means a lot to me to read these comments. I wanted them all to hang together but also stand on their own, so it's really great to get that response. Also, working with the abstract elements in the poems was different for me, and I wasn't always sure whether it worked. I'm glad that you liked them, and the insightful feedback is much appreciated <3

"And See Them" is one of my faves too :)

Abstract is hard to work with. You want to leave obscurity and a lot to interpretation, but you fear that the reader can get lost. The good about it is that it can have no meaning, and the reader gives it some. So, I understand it will not be everyone's cup of tea, but I definitely loved it ;) It actually inspired me a bit to break free from the more rigid style I sometimes adopt.

Cool! Would love to read some of that if you care to post any links here.

The biggest influence appears in this piece: https://steemit.com/contest/@poetrybyjeremy/cotton-rain-150-word-flash-fiction-entry-for-dhs-5sbd-contest

It is my second flash-fiction, but it is relatively short (150 words) and is written in a poetic style. My first flash-fiction was too predictable; so I loosened myself a bit :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66086.15
ETH 3548.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58