Over the Moon

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

The moon was heavy on your freckled back
but you dragged it across our iron threshold
leaving bits of star and sky
on the cement to wood barrier
that seperated All Ours
from Others

Each osculation was the taste of necessary
summer rain in the desert-
sometimes my palate would define sorrow on the roof of your mouth
or chemical desperation
on the velvet bottom of your tongue

It may be years in the way your mother measures time
but it is this morning’s dew bathed nightmare for me
one page back in my mind

Now the wind calls out your name
as I blow smoke into the westward expanse
mile and miles, rivers, roads,
mountains and valleys
between the two of us

Far away
tucked under the amaranthe
and amber sky of a New Mexican sunset
your head bowed in supplication
praying for rain
you sense the second hand smoke

carried all the way from these blue tinted mountains
carried off my lips
that still remember yours

The sun has set
You rise from prayer
to hold a staring contest with the sky
You wonder where the moon could be

Among the ivy & magnolia
I fondle the pocket under my clavicle
where I keep the moon
dripping stardust and night
and wonder how you could forget
giving it to me

Sort:  

Oh! What a lovely poem
I am pretty sure the Moon would have jumped in excitement if it were human

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

This is such a lovely poem. It speaks of the anony faced by separated lovers. I like it @pinkspectre

wow, you got me googling my geometricals. great poetry moves people into action like that

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62639.70
ETH 2439.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64