Who

in #poetry7 years ago

existential_fingerprint_by_1cor1313.jpg
Existential Fingerprint by 1cor1313

Who

.

Who am I?
What is this self
that I occupy?

This space
This time
This body
This mind

I have grown,
I am a learner.
I have evolved
as an observer.

Am I the same person
as I was from birth?
Am I the story of
her journey on earth?

Am I my human self,
living and perceiving?
Am I my conscious self,
thinking and existing?

Does the self persist
when we close our eyes?
Do we cease to exist
until we arise?

Who builds the dreams
throughout the night?
What drives the will
behind this flight?

Who makes the choices?
Is the self an illusion?
Who is behind
this body-mind
fusion?

We can't see it
but we know it's there,
every individual
can't compare.

We can look into
the eyes of another,
imagine their life,
and simply wonder.

What are they thinking
inside their mind?
Imagine the universe
behind their eyes.

Imagine,
but never know.
Every self related,
but different in flow.

The source of thoughts
that spark and grow,
every mind
a different show.

Our own game of life,
a planet of souls.
Each of us
on our own path,
and with our own goals.

Some playing easy,
in life they thrive.
Some playing hard,
that barely survive.

We see, hear
smell, taste and feel,
while our minds
compute what's real.

Are we just thoughts
and sensations?
Pain and pleasure?
Joy and frustrations?

Are we just our
bodies and our minds?

Or is there
something else

drifting through
space-time?

Who am I?
Who are you?
What's your story?
.

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @philosimator to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69344.82
ETH 3616.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.19