A Poem To God, "I don’t know how to love You"

in #poetry7 years ago

Thumbnail.jpg

My Lord, I wish I knew You,

The way that you know me.

I wish You were my all in all;

That you were all that I could see.

But I don’t know how to love You,

Though that’s what I want so much

I want to feel your love for me,

And to know your graceful touch.

You gave your life for me, my Lord,

Due to all my sins you died.

And though I am so grateful, Jesus,

On many nights, I have cried.

Because I don’t know how to love You,

In the way You want it done.

I judge myself so harshly, Lord,

And then I tend to feel alone.

I seem to seek importance,

Much more than I seek You.

Because I know what I desire,

And the feeling isn’t always true.

I don’t know how to love You,

But this I want to learn.

I want my heart to ache for you,

And to love You back in turn.

Teach me how to learn, my Lord,

To humble my self and will.

To allow you to lift me up,

My lack of love for You to fill.

I don’t know how to love You,

But I will submit to you myself.

So I will always place You first,

You belong on my top shelf.

Within me, renew a right spirit,

Create in me a brand new heart.

Draw me oh so close to You,

That from Your love I’ll never part.

Sort:  

Congratulations @pastorjuan! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @pastorjuan! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59876.72
ETH 3191.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43