My Duty - An Original Poem

in #poetry6 years ago

All That Is Gold Does Not Glitter,
Not All Those Who Wander Are Lost
-Tolkien



Image Source


My Duty

What do I need with dreamful sleep?
With one like you to hold and keep.
I cherish each moment you give to me.
I'm flooded with feeling you've set free.

I was created as a vessel to retain,
The energy and words to ease you pain.
I didn't know how empty, until I was filled,
My rage your touch has easily killed.

I was promised to you before I was born.
To your joy and peace I've been sworn.
This task I feel blessed to hold.
Your smile to me worth more than gold.



Appreciator Footer.png

Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

love is life

Absolutely, it is! Thanks for your support!

your welcome

Congratulations! Your poem was featured in Poets United's Daily Dose #65.

daily dose banner2.jpg

Thank you so much @madevi I greatly appreciate the support and exposure!

How beautiful!

Thank you so much!

Ahh the sweet melting touch of love. Even the hardest and toughest men are laid down before it. Wonderful words and ideas you put forth.

Isn't that the truth! She knows she has me wrapped...lol Thanks for coming by and commenting.

Nice imagery and flow with this! The idea of belonging to one another before birth is something I find very endearing.

Love is such an expansive, incredible sensation-- cheers to sharing its expression 🙌

Thank you. That is my favorite line in the poem(about belonging to another before birth). I appreciate the comment and support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60228.69
ETH 2428.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45