You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Horror Vacui

in #poetry6 years ago

Written very beautifully. The format you chose here with the spacing of paragraphs and words honestly adds a lot- something very underrated in many poems is the way you cut off each stanza. As someone who enjoys playing with spacing in my own works, I can appreciate the care you've taken.

The sum total of...mini-poems? I'll call them that, yes- they connect not so much in theme, but in the sense that they each describe an aspect of humanity. The first: the visage of one who has given up entirely, almost as if the rest is a story told by a drunken patron at a bar. The second, the fleeting nature and sad departure of memories one holds most dear. The third, the moments that make the memories, small and insignificant in the grand scheme of things, and yet so seemingly important in the present. And, of course, the fourth and final segment, the grand achievements us humans believe we have reached, only to be forgotten in the sands of time, or by another swig of alcohol.

This poem spoke to me a lot more than many poems I've read because it perfectly described an ideology that I enjoy toying with and occasionally humoring- the idea of nihilism, that everything is eventually meaningless. This idea is incredibly frightening, and, to me, can be one of the most horrifying things to consider when experiencing pieces of dark media.

I think you did a very good job at capturing the essence of nothing, and this is something not many can achieve. Kudos to you.

Sort:  

Conner, these truly are some of the nicest words, mate, thank you so much.

being given an avenue to step outside the view of 'the writer' and see the poem from the eyes of a reader, it means much and more, good sir.

elated by the read and that the piece meant enough to you to leave this comment. again, @noughtshayde, thank you, mate.

This was a perfect, well thought out analysis. It really was an enjoyable piece of art. My most recent poem was titled, Sifting through the sands of time. After seeing you reference it here , I thought perhaps you would like to give me an analysis? I'll be happy to upvote your wise words. Have a look. I'll be stopping by to check you out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62835.77
ETH 3392.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50