Steemit Poetry Contest #8 - Illusions Bind

in #poetry6 years ago

This is my entry to @terrycraft's poetry contest #8.


illusion200.png

The sound, like whispers,
Your voice in the breeze.
I give pause and crouch,
To wait upon bloodied knees.

It wont come again,
Though my pulse does quicken,
I have no choice,
Compelled, I must listen.

In faith I wait
By strength of mind
Patient, still,
In Illusion's bind


If you enjoyed it, check out some of my other poetry:

Or check my blog it includes poetry, fiction, and highly technical content.

~~ Thanks for Reading ~~

Sort:  

Congratulations. This post is featured in this week's Muxxybot Poetry Curation post.

https://steemit.com/curation/@muxxybot/muxxybot-poetry-curation-11

Very nice! I love the short lines, I have trouble writing poems with short lines, but this one is amazingly tight!

Well done!

Originally I tried to make the lines shorter so they'd fit without line wrapping, but then I liked that I could hold an entire quatrain in my head without having to re-read it. This made it a lot easier to find better words for the feeling or flow, and what you see above is the result.

Also, I just discovered Flash Fic was a thing and that might have a little to do with it.

This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation team.
If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot.
An image from your post may be featured.
Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

I humbly and most graciously accept.

Thank you!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jrswab from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has received a 0.31 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29