POEM: IF I WASN'T WORRIED ABOUT LIFE

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

3406667_S.jpgsource

If I wasn't worried about life,
I would be lounging away on my soft couch,
with a cup of soya milk and creamy crackers in my hand,
While I read any book of my choice.
There would be loud music.
Something strong and upbeat like the tempo of my heartbeat,
To diffuse my straying thoughts from wandering too far
Away to memories that have for long ceased to be important,
But I patronize every now and then.


If I wasn't worried about life
I would buy a bus ticket going nowhere.
Just so I can get lost whilst I bask in the scenery of the busy streets of Lagos,
Where something notable is happening to someone at every point in time.
A new drama unfolds at every bus-stop.
Or I could wander far to another state.
Watch the grasses rustle on our vehicle,
Get lost in my thoughts
And how unimportant life can be
When everything is in motion.
Everything but you.


If I wasn't worried about life
I would spend my entire evening staring at the night sky
Trying to figure out my place amongst the stars.


If I wasn't worried about life
I would start most days writing poetry
And end each night empty--
If I wasn't worried about life.


©EkpemanduChinonso


IMG-20180517-WA0000.jpg


download.png

Sort:  

@Nonz, thank you for using the naijapidgin tag.

We encourage and support minnows.

Join us on discord: https://discord.gg/5SR8CH4 for more fun and to submit your posts for curation.

You like what we are doing and would like to support us? Join our trail here: https://steemauto.com/dash.php?i=15&id=1&user=naijapidgin

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by nonz from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @nonz! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25