You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Song of the Dead - [Day 1]

in #poetry7 years ago

This poem resonated with me because I am from a similar background. It is beyond me why people spend so much money on corpses and not on the living.

After combing through your piece several times this line kept popping out to me: "my blight to the world;" Why did you use it? In particular blight. I am trying to see how it fits into the overall flow of the poem where meaning is concerned.

Just a thought by the way.

Sort:  

Thank you @nicholas83.

Of course, we are aware that there are a thousand and one reasons for the cause of death in the world.
The word "blight" is used contextually to direct blame on the bereaved who could have done something - rally for help when he/she - the deceased, was in a damaged cum deteriorated condition - "blight", but the bereaved did nothing.

Your thought is greatly appreciated!
Thank you for stopping by my blog.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67282.50
ETH 2627.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68