Even Snow Dies [original short poem]

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

For many, winter is approaching, the air is growing cold, and you're facing months of snow ahead. Fear not! Because...


Even Snow Dies

Driven snowdunes, one overlapping the next
Mist billowing from the range,
Flakes and fog and ice in boundless tryst
Listing in the wind
A cold and lonely place, some say.
Not today.

The basement of the world
Holds dark and lovely things
Like the little seed in encasement.
Spring their time abiding,
For their prospect to truly be.

Beneath the ice-bound vault
I hear your lonely call
In the hidden heart of the earth
The fist of the seed waits,
Birth soon to come

Little ruddy seed, rise to me
As only you know how
Rise to me now
Above the break of the snow
I summon thee from below.




Pic credit on Pexels

Sort:  

This is such a beautiful, hopeful poem. My favorite line, "The basement of the world holds dark and lovely things."

Yes!
Actually, I have several favorite lines.
@negativer it's crazy how much I love two poems that seem to contain two conflicting truths (yours, vs Emily Dickinson's flower beheaded at its play by the blond assassin and the sun proceeds unmoved)-- but it's like I always say:
The glass in not half empty or half full. It is both.
But, I claim Walt Whitman as my defense.
Do I contradict myself? Very well, I contradict myself. I am large. I contain multitudes.

My favorite line?
Not today.

There is so much in there. Entire volumes brought into mind with just two words. And though everyone's 'volumes' may be different, the end mindset is universal.
Not today.

Thank you :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by negativer from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.78 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Ooo, I love this @negativer!! Well done!! <3

Thank you for saying so, and for you reading :)

Oh yes. Yes.

I knew you were a j.o.a.t, but I've been impressed with your creativity in your short stories and poems. Keep it up, bra.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62956.16
ETH 2588.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74