"Glass"

in #poetry7 years ago

Though the nights get longer
Every minute we're apart
I take comfort in loving you
From the depths of my heart.

When impatience ignites and
My thoughts get absurd
I think of my child-
Loving her calms my nerves.

My mood becomes dark as
I cling to the past
Feeling that nothing can fix
This heart made of glass.

image

I was digging through old files and boxes in the closet today and found a letter I wrote to my girlfriend from jail on December 29, 2008.

The backstory...I had been in and out for almost a year for disturbing the status quo and then caught a Battery charge and as a result had just missed my new (to me anyways) daughter's first steps, first Christmas, first Halloween, first Thanksgiving...and I was in a bad place. My everyday life was becoming increasingly violent and clashes with the guards, many of them violent, was almost a daily occurance. I was still 2 months from my release date and although I don't remember writing this, I did. I do remember drawing the flower. It's a skill that has remained unused since that day.

My current situation has me feeling nostalgic, I think and I dug this out. I don't want to leave her again, which is a distinct possibility.

It's amazing how the mind remembers things differently as time goes on.

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @nathanpieters to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

The significance chooses beside the assembly. That's a good poetry. :-) ... Followed you. Stay connected and follow me as well :-) See you around @steemtrip

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by nathanpieters from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59126.81
ETH 2514.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46