You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Captive (Poetry - The Sims Diaries #1)

in #poetry6 years ago

The difficulties of a being caught in a simulation, waiting for life to make some sense. But enough about my life...

A real balanced flow of words and rhythm. Clear imagery. You've taken the mundane and made it poetic.

Sort:  

enough about my life...

ha, you got me!

Thank you. I've used some of myself, transferred it onto different characters and situations. Then, I let them write their own diary. I took their diaries and transferred them into poems. I am glad that after all that processing, the poetry reflects something realistic and relatable. And glad that someone who claims to not have a great understanding in poetry, could read along and follow through :)

I guess poetry is like art in general. I know what I like, although I can't always be precise about why. I'm learning to though, and this one appealed to me in a very specific manner. So yes, my claims of poetic ignorance came to nought.

There are poems I don't understand myself. Some are meant to be abstract, like art. It would be foolish for anyone to claim to know exactly what the artist of an abstract art intended to express. Or, I may be wrong, since I don't know too much about art. In the end, it's always the reader who needs to have faith in their own interpretation :)

I think the reader's interpretation is a key part of it. I know I have done abstract poems and even I didn't fully know what it meant. I'd have a vague notion, and the readers would often share theirs idea and something would click for me.

I suppose we get to learn about our subconscious more - which can be scary. Ah, writing is the best therapy <3

I agree, writing is the best therapy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99