Writer's block

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

What's up, Steemit? So I haven't been very active here lately. I originally set out to make sure I posted at least once a day. I have a lot of poems that I had recently revised, and I figured I could at least post those for a while. I have never been able to maintain production lie many writers are. I usually come up with about 2 - 3 poems a year. So when I see all of these challenges and contests, I get really excited only to draw blanks when it comes time to write. It's kind of depressing really.

I did post one of my old poems a few days ago. It is appropriate for things going on in the news. It's here in case anybody wants to take a look at it. The poem is old, but the image is new. The poem has a hidden message and I have been looking for a way to cleverly hide the message within the poem in addition to the metaphors. I remembered this thing I saw online somewhere and figured I would give it a shot. I ended up with something that looked similar to a QR code, but the message is human readable without a tool. Unfortunately, only a few got it and I had to spill the beans somewhat prematurely. I realized that I would get a lot of down votes if I didn't explain it.

Anyway, I was hoping more people would have figured it out and resteemed. If I was thinking right, I would have declined payout. I actually paid for some resteems to help get it out there, but I don't think it got as much traction if I would have liked.

Well, I guess that's it. I just wanted to get something down to let the Steemit god's know I'm not dead. I'll post something tomorrow. Until then, I'll see you guys around. I'll be back to reading and commeting soon too.

Sort:  

Hey there, @moeknows,
I feel you. Somedays I actually get discouraged looking around at crappy content that people are upvoting and sharing -- like how the hell is that possible, and how are they making so much monies?

I've been having some trouble finding the words for poetry this last couple weeks. I paint and embroider so I've been more focused on those things.

Anyway, you have been missed.

I just wanted to pop in here to say thank you. I realized the other day that you were one of the first people to comment on my work (maybe the first). I think it's great when artists can interact with each other and share their thoughts.

Regarding the crappy poetry getting $$, I have the same feelings, but I get my by telling myself "Don't hate the player, hate the game". That's what they're doing in most cases. They're playing the game. And I guess I'm as into doing that as they are. I see that it basically comes down to luck and networking. If you seek out and team up with whales, it's more likely that you will get big paying upvotes...which then makes your work trend...which then gets more upvotes...until eventually, you have difficulty posting anything that doesn't net you at least $100. It's crazy, but such is life. Good for them, I guess.

I need to find some Whales... where they be? lol

I think I've made over one buck like twice... I like your mindset here and am down with the process, I just don't know any whales.

The one thing I do is support the work and people I believe in and that ain't never gonna change, I am this way in my rl too. I think there is room for all of us and I LOVE good art, via words, or paint, or whatever. I'm still doing this because I love it and I have come into contact with fking amazing artist, like you.

Carry on, as ever. :)

*I meant to say I'm not in to doing that as much as they are.

There's a whale that has a bot doing his upvoting for him by following some manual voters and I believe @robyneggs is one of those voters. I received an upvote from him and got like 5 dollars from it. I felt proud for a bit but then I realized it wasn't even one of my good poems. Lol. I don't necessarily want to make money on this stuff, but I feel like I've got something to say and sometimes unique perspectives on things.

I agree with you and have talked about this a lot... I'm literally not here for the money or number of "friends" I have -- I have somethings to share and I love this outlet.. it's forever on the blockchain it's not censored. However, it would be nice to make a little bit from the fruits of my labor as I see so many others doing.

Robyn is a real person... I get so lost in how all of this works and every time I set time aside to figure it out I just feel stupid for not getting it.

P.S. You are totally unique and I love your spoken word for the tone and vibe to bring the words to life.

it would be nice to make a little bit from the fruits of my labor as I see so many others doing.

I feel you. I'm the same way. I just see it as two separate efforts. The quality of your work is just a small factor in how much money the post can make. You'd be better off networking with some of the group's on discord and whatnot and/or buying upvotes and resteems. I admit I've done that. I've thought about getting in with the minnow support project, but I don't like the idea of people just voting for me without even reading my stuff. I'm ok with buying exposure to an audience and even buying an upvote from a whale under certain circumstances, but what I really crave is the interaction...sorta like this exchange between us.

Robyn is a real person.

Yeah I know. What I'm saying is, this guy didn't want to spend time reading content, so he basically said "I'll just follow these certain real people and vote like they vote." Then he built a bot to do that.

Thanks for all your support. I appreciate the time you spend reading my stuff, and I respect your word as an artist and someone who has written some of the best stuff on here.

It appears we think similarly on this -- at this point I am just posting and having great interactions with the few folks that I gravitate towards that interact with me (so thankful to have met some of these people here), that is already a win as I would not be doing this had I not joined. I just can't smooze (sp?) people, it's never been my thing. I did that Randowhale thing once but it seemed like a waste for the price. So let it be what it is. :)

Thank you for clarifying that Robyn Bot thing, I was confused and now I am not.

Rock on and many thanks to you as well. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62613.64
ETH 2438.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67