Unimpressed - Day 8 of 100

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

money-3120527__340.jpg

Unimpressed

Status exemplified
Eyed by the underlings
Gazing upon him with wonderings
We envy the wealth of currency
While currently disregarding our blessings
Striving for lesser things than happiness
Lamenting our situation as if we have no control
Yes.
We’ve fallen for the lies they’ve told
And sold our satisfaction
for a dream of success
Forever doomed to underwhelm
In the land of nothingness
But I’m not impressed

I’ve dined with those at the pinnacle of success
And ended up pitying them for having less
So much stuff, but so much stress
No friends with which to share the best
All in all, I’m not impressed
He treats people like shit
He’s so depressed
If he represents a life of success
I’ll take what I’ve got
I don’t need the rest.

Submitted for the steemitschool poetry challenge. Join us: https://discord.gg/hyfYQ9P
Image credit, pixabay.

If you like this, check out some of my others:

Drilling for Treasure Day 7 of 100 (Original poetry)
Mind Drill (Original poem day 6 of 100)
Devination in Dreams (Day 5 of 100)
Heavy (original poetry) day 3 of 100
Storm Coming Day 2 of 100 (Haibun)

=============================
moeknows_red.png
=============================
thealliance2.png
=============================
BCPLogoMoeknows4 - small.PNG
Join the new Discord channel dedicated specifically to poetry
Block Chain Poets
Where poets support other poets.

Sort:  

I’ve dined with those at the pinnacle of success
And ended up pitying them for having less

So astute, Moe. We trade on our happiness for success. But success is never fed and so happiness can be forever denied. Great write, Moe. Come check out my Day 9 work if you have a moment. I would be much obliged.

Joke:

How to offend a poet: - I'm also a poet.

Nice lyrics! Who is the villain?

Nice and knowledgeable post. keep it up @moeknows

Nice post, nice to meet you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60063.85
ETH 2313.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46