Trinity (Original Poem)

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Trinity

Life, chilled and hardened
This crystalline entity
Creeps in the mountains
=
Serpent descending
Carving a sinuous path
Into the Delta
=
The spirit ascends
Occupying the heavens
To rain Life below

=============================
What’s up Steemians? This is a piece I wrote in reply to another short poem challenge. The three stanzas are haikus...or haiku (whichever is correct….I think it’s haiku). Each one is made to represent some aspect of water in its three states. This substance is truly fascinating both for its unique chemical makeup and its importance to basically all life. In its makeup, I see a divine hand in play. I tried to embed that into the piece. The title was meant to have a double meaning with an allusion to God as well as a nod to water’s three states. It’s truly crazy when you think about all the crazy aspects of water. Everything from Negative Thermal Expansion to Supercritical Steam makes water an interesting subject from which we can learn a great deal.
I don’t have the ability to upload an image at this time, but I will upload a picture that I took as soon as I get a chance. Thanks for reading. Please leave me your thoughts in a comment below. If this post has entertained you, please consider upvoting and resteeming as well. Thank you for taking the time to read.
=============================
moeknows_red.png
=============================
thealliance2.png

Sort:  

Nice word use. Short and sweet!

Thank you. I generally try to be efficient in y poetry...of course the form demands it for this one. Thank you for taking the time to read and comment. I really appreciate it.

All three haiku are excellent.
This is my favorite

The spirit ascends
Occupying the heavens
To rain Life below

I was drawn in so quickly, I didn't even realize they were haiku until afterwards. Serene and sublime. Well done!

Thanks Tina! it means a lot coming from you. Hey, are you on Discord?

I am going to try and find my way there (Discord) sometime tomorrow.

Those are satisfying verses. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you. I appreciate your taking the time to read and upvote.

Such perspective in such a minimal and constrained amount of words. This one is amazing.

Thanks you so much! I found this one very difficult to write, so your comment is very satisfying to me.

I love the possible interpretations of this one.

The spirit ascends
Occupying the heavens
To rain Life below

Overall, well written!

First, I have to echo @tinajordan here that I was just drawn in so quickly that I didn't realize these were haiku until you pointed it out afterawards. I appreciate it when haiku can be written like that. Then again, tying the haiku together is sort of cheating, but I'll forgive you ;-)

I also note you ended up never uploading an image :(

I love the imagery used. The cycle of water is the cycle of life, as you have noted. The only thing that could make it even more perfect would be if somehow you could tie the three personifications of water together.

But, this is really good. One of your better pieces.

Really cool! My first thoughts were going through stages of life being that times get tough and we tend to freeze and then sometime we fall or melt downwards but find away to escape those burdens and rise back up. Love that about poetry, its meaning can really change based on the enterpreter:) Fascinating stuff!!

its meaning can really change based on the enterpreter

It surely can it. I love your interpretation too. Thank you for taking the time to read and comment. I appreciate it.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @moeknows to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Nice! Maybe it's the reference to a delta, but I thought of ancient Egypt when reading this. Regardless, it has the quality of a sacred text. Beautiful triptych :)

Thank you! I was blocked on this one for several days before I was able to get anywhere with it. I did, at one point, have a reference to the Nile, but I rand out of syllables. I love the interpretation. Thanks for taking the time to read and comment.

following you :)

I had quite the strange interpretation of this one, it seems obvious its H2O now.
I was thinking it was Rage, Depression, and Compassion. Guess that's the beauty of the written word!

Yes it is. You get from art what you bring to it. That's what I love about poetry too. Each interpretation is a collaborative work of art as well. Thank you for taking the time to read and collaborate with me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64741.88
ETH 3457.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55