You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Publish or Perish" - A ~Steemit~ Haiku

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Yep, I feel you, bro. What you describe seems to be an issue that affects minnows, dolphins and whales alike. Well, maybe not all whales, but still...

I find it difficult to write every day and sometimes every week. Other times, I find it difficult to hold myself back from posting several times in a day. In either case, you risk eventually alienating your user base.

How do you feel about reposting? In my personal opinion, I don't see anything wrong with it on this platform. Steemit is not a persistent platform, meaning it isn't really set up to reward great articles that are older than 7 days. It is also difficult to track down some of those older articles on here. You have somewhat solved that issue with your library, but you have no active avenue to put that content in front of new users...unless you repost.

I think this is ethical because a lot of people simply won't take the time to research a single writer's past work when they could review several people's work from their feed. Think about how many followers you had when you posted your very first article. How many of your current followers have seen that article? I love your work, and I can tell you that I haven't looked it up. In fact, even if I did, I would decline to waste an upvote on it simply because I know it wouldn't do you any good (unless I am misunderstanding that feature). Example: I finally got around to reading most of your Whispering Hope series, but won't upvote because it doesn't benefit you as I would like. What are your thoughts?

Sort:  

Hi again!

I really appreciate your very thoughtful and on-point comments here.

I have re-posted some of my work on occasion. Typically, I've done that when I have had some improvement, or in the case of some very popular articles that I feel are "above average." And I don't see any ethical problem with that, within reason. Of course, that's purely my opinion and the amount and reason for reposting are subjective value judgements.

I do feel that the greatest value in my older work is as an archive, and as "value added" and "advertising" for new readers who are just now becoming acquainted with my work.

I'm not exactly sure how the voting works on older articles. I have upvoted some old articles because I found them excellent, but have not checked to see if that reduces my voting power.

Sometimes I have read an old, excellent article, and then gone and given a 100% up vote to the author's most recent article as a way of rewarding the author for the older article...

I guess the bottom line is that the system "is what it is," and we all need to use it as we best see fit. I hope to continue posting as I am able, and hope to see the various system-wide problems eventually fixed and the value of Steem rise. Even if it doesn't rise as much or as fast as I would like, I still value the platform for it potential archival quality in the blockchain.

Thanks again for your thoughts on this! :D

Yeah, I saw your comment on the archival part of the equation, and I like that too. I have done the same thing upvoting recent as reward for older posts. I think it's a good action to take.

I think people abusing reposting would kind of sort itself out. If I see someone keep posting the same article again and again, their only going to get my upvote once.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61436.18
ETH 2381.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55